Social Welfare: General
Search Tips: Do not use the full-text only option in databases as that feature will take out sources that we do have access to, just not through that those specific databses. Instead, use UC-eLinks to locate full-text option.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
-
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations (with abstracts) of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
-
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present.
-
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new windowSSRN provides access to 1000s of research publications in all disciplines. Search the library by title, author or journal/topic. Or communicate directly with authors listed in the author contact list. You may receive daily delivery of papers as authors release them.
-
The Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic ReviewsThe Campbell Collaboration (C2) helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.
Medical
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases designed to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). It is an important resource for systematic reviews.
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
-
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Offers instant access to the most current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment, written by expert faculty from the world's leading medical schools and academic medical centers.
Crime/Deviant Behavior
-
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles and government documents on criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse. Based on the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. When available, full text is included.
Methodologies and Tests
-
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowInformation on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Accessing Full-Text
Not all sources are available in online format.
-
Citation LinkerLocate an article from a citation.
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
Keeping Track of Your Project
-
concept mapping software such as bubbl
-
Write down keywords/subject headings, names, ... you have used in which database and when.
-
Use the email feature to end the citation information from databases we subscribe to.
-
Reference management: UCLA does not offer a campus wide license.
- There is a free web version with limited features called EndNote Web. You need to sign-up for an account. Make sure your off-campus access setup is enabled before you sign-up for an account.
- Zotero: a free FireFox extension/plugin. It can also capture webpages. You can also save citations to an online account.
- There is a free web version with limited features called EndNote Web. You need to sign-up for an account. Make sure your off-campus access setup is enabled before you sign-up for an account.
Other sources
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowBibliographic essays reviewing and summarizing the year's scholarship in specific fields, highlighting context, significance, and points of consensus or controversy. UCLA subscribes to only a subset of the Annual Reviews titles available, mostly in the social and life sciences.
-
Encyclopedia of Social WorkV20 2008 edition only
-
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesA scholarly encyclopedia covering disciplines of the social and behavioral sciences: Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Political Science, Psychology, Social Welfare, Sociology, and related fields and concepts.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
Scholarly Books
-
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
Searching Collection of E-Books by Publisher
Besides search Google Books and our catalog for ebooks, you may also be interested in searching these publishers site where we have purchased quite a few ebooks from directly.