Translations of Dostoevsky's "Besy"
UC Library Search is going to be the place to go for this topic. Do an Advanced search for dostoevsky as Author/Creator and for EACH possible title (Demons *and* The Possessed). You can also filter for English only by clicking on the link you will see under "Language" on the left-hand side near the bottom of the page.
Russian Socialist Realist Art
Try a subject search in the library catalog using: Socialist realism in art--Soviet Union
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Look for definitions of terms ("socialist realism") and for short biographies of artists. Many articles also suggest additional resources/reading, too. - ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection.
- Research Guide: Image ResourcesThis guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools, resources, and strategies for finding images. Use it to locate frequently recommended resources such as finding out how to cite image resources, rights and reproduction, and a list of online resources to find images.
Disarmament in Ukraine and Kazakhstan
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS provides international coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings and government documents on political science and related topics. Use the keywords "disarmament" AND "Ukraine" OR "Kazakhstan." Also: click on the "Subject" header on the left to see some really helpful (and clickable) additional subject links!
Disabled Community in Russia
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Google ScholarType in the words (in Cyrillic) "инвалидность" or "психи́ческое здоро́вье" ("духовное здоро́вье" or "душевное здоро́вье", sometimes "мента́льное здоровье") and "россия." Also do a search with "disability" or "mental health" and "russia."
- Google Advanced Search (by domain)Use keywords "disability" or "mental health" and "russia" again. Once you've done the search, click on the gear icon in the right-hand corner and choose "Advanced." Scroll down to the box for "Site or domain" and type in ".gov." Try the searches again using ".org" as the domain.
Political Prisoners in the Post-Soviet Era
Google Advanced Search (by domain)
Use keywords "political prisoners" or "detention" and "russia.". Once you've done the search, click on the gear icon in the right-hand corner and choose "Advanced." Scroll down to the box for "Site or domain" and type in ".gov." Try the searches again using ".org" as the domain.
- Radio Free Europe/Radio LibertySearch their site using the phrases "political prisoners" or "detention" and "russia."
- Human Rights in RussiaSearch the site using "detention" and "political prisoners."
- Amnesty International: Russian FederationAmnesty covers issues related to human rights, illegal detentions, free speech, and it has plenty of material on Russia.
Human Trafficking
Try an advanced Google search (do a regular Google search, then click the gear icon at the top right and choose "Advanced Search" from the drop-down menu), limiting the domain to US government sites: "site:.gov human trafficking russia."
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the search terms human trafficking AND Russia OR Eastern Europe. Scroll through the first few pages of hits, at least. Some of them have to do with spread of disease, but you will find several that deal with this topic specifically.
- Radio Free Europe/Radio LibertySearch for "human trafficking" and Russia.
US/Russian Imperialistic Tendences
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS provides international coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings and government documents on political science and related topics. Use the keywords "imperialism" AND "United States" OR "Russia." Also: click on the "Subject" header on the left to see some really helpful (and clickable) additional subject links!
Immigration from Russia to the US
- Migration and Displacement ResourcesCheck out this page from our International Development Studies guide that collects all kinds of resources on immigration / migration / displacement.
- West Hollywood Public Library Russian Outreach InitiativesWest Hollywood Library has a Russian Outreach Coordinator and a Russian Advisory Board to work with members of the Russian-speaking community and to help newly-arrived Russian speakers transition to their new environment.
- Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System OnlineFrom 1950 to 1953, several hundred Soviet refugees, residents in West Germany, Austria, and the United States, were contacted as prospective interviewees for the HPSSS; some 330 candidates were selected and given full-depth interviews by specialists prominent in the field of Soviet studies. Includes standardized interviews conducted according to an interview guide covering the individual's life history, his/her experiences in certain selected areas of Soviet life, and his/her attitudes toward a wide range of topics.
Agricultural Policy in Russia
- USDA Foreign Agricultural Service: RussiaClick the link for "More" and refine your search by commodity and/or type of report.
- European Union Commission on Agriculture and Rural DevelopmentSearch for "Russia" for some very relevant results.