General Information
- National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC)Launched in 2000 and funded by the Center of Disease Control and Prevention. Collects and disseminates a wide range of resources on sexual violence. Includes statistics, research, position statements, statutes, training curricula, prevention initiatives and program information.
- Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network (RAINN)One of the largest anti-sexual violence organizations in the United States. Created and continues to operate the national sexual assault hotline, advocates for policies that assist survivors and works towards prevention of sexual violence.
- Medline Plus - Sexual AssaultThrough the efforts of the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, MedLine Plus provides information and resources regarding health to patients and their families. Health topic on sexual assault provides overview and links to helpful resources.
Comments (0)
Law Enforcement Resources
- National Center for Victims of Crime - Sexual AssaultProvides an overview of the issue of sexual assault as well as an explanation of making a report to law enforcement.
- Office for Victims of Crime (OVC)Established in 1988, the OVC works to connect victims of crimes to resources. This site provides local, state and nationwide resources.
Legal Resources
- Legal Aid Society Employment Law Center - Domestic ViolenceFact sheets and self help tools for legal issues including leave for court dates, unemployment insurance, taking leave for health reasons, etc. for victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.
- Project Survive HelplinePhone hotline that provides free legal information for survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault and/or stalking.
Medical Resources
- National Protocol for Sexual Assault Medical Forensic ExaminersWith a 2004 publication date, this document is intended for medical professionals training or have been trained in the sexual assault medical forensic exam process. Can be a helpful resource for anyone with questions regarding the forensic medical exam.
- RAINN - Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2005Full text of VAWA that protects rights of victims of sexual assault and domestic violence. This includes the right to have evidence collected without the victim having to pay or press charges.
- Health and Sexual Violence Online Resource CenterTopics include the impact of sexual violence on health, seeking medical attention after an assault, and resources for different medical providers (mental health and dental professionals).
Statistics
- Center for Disease Control - Intimate Partner Violence SurveyOngoing national telephone survey that highlights the prevalence of intimate partner violence that includes physical violence, sexual violence, threats, and emotional abuse.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics - Rape and Sexual AssaultFocuses on statistics and estimates based on law enforcement data. Includes the Crime Victimization Report.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics - Intimate Partner ViolenceOverview of the topic of intimate partner violence with publications that summarize and analyze the prevalence.
- RAINN - StatisticsIncludes statistics from multiple sources. Includes focus on victims, offenders, and reporting.
For the LGBTQ Community
- The Network/La RedBoston based survivor led organization that focuses on ending intimate partner violence within the LGBTQ community.
- Community United Against ViolenceSan Francisco based organization focused on preventing and responding to violence against the LGBTQ community.
- Survivor ProjectOrganization focused on the needs of intersex and trans survivors of sexual assault and domestic violence.
For Male Survivors
- Male SurvivorProvides resources and support for male survivors of sexual assault. Committed to ending sexual victimization of boys and men.
- 1 in 6Provides support and resources for men who were victims of unwanted or abusive sexual experiences during childhood.
- 1 in 6 SupportLineA support hotline that uses the online chat interface to provide support for male survivor of childhood sexual violence and their support networks.
For Teens
- That's Not CoolTeen friendly website that encourages youth to examine how online experiences and digital identities can be controlled in unhealthy relationships.
- Love is RespectTeen friendly site that provides information and resources for health relationships. Includes information for parents as well. Hosts peer advocate hotline available by phone, chat and text.
- Dating Matters InitiativeWhile this site does not target teens specifically, it has lots of information and strategies for preventing teen dating violence.
Prevention
- PreventConnectA collaboration between the California Coalition Against Sexual Assault and the Center for Disease Control to focus on primary prevention methods for sexual violence. Hosts conferences, trainings and resources.
- Men Can Stop RapeA campaign targeting men, teens and boys in challenging rape culture and aiming to create a culture free from sexual violence.
- Sexual Violence Prevention StrategiesCenter for Disease Control article that highlights components of effective sexual violence prevention programs
Crisis Hotlines
- National Sexual Assault Hotline - 1 800 656 HOPE (4673)Hotline for survivors of sexual assault and their support network. Service connects the caller to their local crisis center hotline. Callers share information according to their needs and comfort level.
- National Sexual Assault Online HotlineAn online chat interface for survivors of sexual assault and their support networks.
- Department of Defense Safe Helpline - 877 995 5247A phone hotline and chat interface that provides sexual assault support for army, navy, marines, air force and coast guard communities.
Rape Crisis Center Resources
- RAINN - Search for a local rape crisis centerSearch for a local rape crisis center by state or zip code.
- Laws in your state - confidentiality lawsProvides plain language information regarding confidentiality laws by state.
Books
References
- CALCASA PublicationsResources and publications created by the California Coalition Against Sexual Assault that were referenced in creating the Midday at the Oasis Webinar.


Loading...
