Bibliographies and Guides
Document Collections
- Seventeen Moments in Soviet HistoryClick on 1917, and then the subheadings to find introductory essays and a wealth of primary materials.
- Voices of revolution (transcripts of original Russian documents)Голоса pеволюции, 1917 г.
Documents in the original Russian from:
Mark D. Steinberg, Voices of Revolution, 1917
Journals
When you search for articles on your topic using bibliographical databases, you'll very likely run across these titles for major journals in Russian and Slavic history and culture.
- KritikaAccessible through Project Muse database
- Russian Review
- Slavic Review
- Russian History (Pittsburgh)
- Russian Studies in HistoryAccessible through Academic Search Complete
- Soviet and Post-Soviet Review
- Soviet Studies
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
Databases: Article Citations and Journal Contents
- Ab ImperioAb Imperio is an international humanities and social sciences peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the studies in new imperial history, and interdisciplinary and comparative study of nationalism and nationalities in the post-Soviet space.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search "Russia" - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
UIUC Slavic Reference Service
Free year-round service of the University of Illinois Slavic and East European Library. The Slavic Reference Service handles bibliographic and reference questions in the humanities and social sciences from individuals and libraries. Great for highly specialized queries and locating difficult-to-find resources.
Librarian for Slavic Studies and Linguistics
Alena Aissing
Contact:
A1540 Charles E. Young Research Library
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
310-206-0324
Search the UCLA Library Catalog
Suggested SUBJECT HEADINGS
Try the following subject headings in the UCLA Library Catalog
Russia -- History -- 1801-1917
Soviet Union -- History -- 1917-1936
Soviet Union --History --1917-1936 --Sources
Soviet Union --Politics and government --1917-1936 --Sources
Catalogs, Search Engines, and Other Finding Aids
- WorldCatSearch for books at hundreds of libraries all over the world all at the same time. If UCLA doesn't have a book you need, you can Interlibrary Loan it for free.
Strategy: When you find a book on your topic in an online catalog, scroll down to "Subject(s)". The subject hyperlinks will take you to more books on the same (or similar) subject.
Strategy: When you hold a book on your topic in your hands, look at the bibliography and/or the footnotes for a goldmine of related sources. - Google ScholarIt's google, but for scholars! Find books and journal articles, and if you're in the UCLA system, links will take you directly to Libary holdings.
Strategy: When you find a resource on your topic, follow the "Cited by..." and "Related articles" links to find more potentially useful things.