Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian
Overview
The Charles E. Young Research Library (YRL) houses an extensive collection of materials to support UCLA's interdepartmental program in Communication Studies. The Research Library's collection centers on mass and interpersonal communications research; other topics related to communication studies may be covered by other UCLA libraries. These include film and television studies at the Arts Library, psychology at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library, and business aspects at the Rosenfeld Library.
Top Online Resources for Communication
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. Abstracts may be searched by word, phrase, or author. The database is updated at intervals throughout the year with both older and newer materials.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Comm Studies Sources
- Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 4,500 electronic files of relevance to communication professionals and students: communication bibliographies, syllabi, journal articles, research tools, descriptions of graduate programs, archives of CIOS/Comserve hotline dialogue, Master Scholars collection. All resources are fully indexed. - UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScape This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized television news programs collected from cable and broadcast sources in the Los Angeles market from 2005 to the present, as well as a small number of Internet news programs. The contents are searchable and viewable.
Associations
- The American Communication AssociationA not-for-profit organization created to promote academic and professional research, criticism, teaching, practical use, and exchange of principles and theories of human communication. Publishes American Communication Journal.
- American Society for the History of RhetoricA not-for-profit organization created to promote academic and professional research, criticism, teaching, practical use, and exchange of principles and theories of human communication. Publishes American Communication Journal.
- Association for Education in Journalism and Mass CommunicationNon-profit educational society which promotes research, high standards, and freedom of expression. Publishes Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly, Journalism and Mass Communication Editor, Journalism and Communication Monographs.
- The International Communication AssociationAn academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication. ICA began more than 50 years ago as a small association of U.S. researchers and is now a truly international association with more than 3,500 members in 65 countries. Since 2003, ICA has been officially associated with the United Nations as a non-governmental association (NGO).
- The National Communication AssociationAdvances communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific and aesthetic inquiry. The NCA serves the scholars, teachers, and practitioners who are its members by enabling and supporting their professional interests in research and teaching. Dedicated to fostering and promoting free and ethical communication, the NCA promotes the widespread appreciation of the importance of communication in public and private life, the application of competent communication to improve the quality of human life and relationships, and the use of knowledge about communication to solve human problems.