Quick Links
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
- SRLF (Southern Regional Library Facility)Many books at UCLA are housed at SRLF due to space restrictions, and these can be paged via the UCLA Library Catalog. Users may also visit SRLF from 1:00-5:00, M-F.
Citation and Annotated Bibliography Tips
- Annotated Bibliographies — Definition and FormatThis page from the OWL at Purdue provides basic information on annotated bibliography structure, with links to other parts of the OWL website.
Catalogs
There are a number of library catalogs available to UCLA researchers. For further information on the catalogs and what they each contain, check out the Books tab in this guide.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Find Articles and Scholarly Writing
These online sources are good places to start your research in Gender Studies. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief description of the resource.
For more suggested sources, go to the tabs at the top of the page.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals in many disciplines. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center. - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
Librarian
General Reference
See Research Help for complete research assistance service options.