Skip to main content

Maps, Atlases, Aerial Images, and Cartographic Resources

Description of the Collections

The aerial photography and atlases series in the Henry J. Bruman Map Collection cover 1965 to the mid 1990s.

In addition to the specific sets listed on this page, we have air and satellite photographs for scattered places around the world, usually single images of a given place or region. Many can be found in the UCLA Library Catalog. Consult with reference staff to determine whether there are any available for the area in which you are interested.

The collection mainly concentrates on the City of Los Angeles and Los Angeles County, with a few images covering adjacent counties. These series vary in scale from 1:40,000 (1 in. = 0.64 mi.) to 1 in. = 100 ft. All of these series are vertical shots, meaning the photo has no tilt in it. With few exceptions they are black and white images. They vary in physical size from 9 × 9 in. to approximately 3 × 4 ft.

UCLA Air Photo Archive

The UCLA Geography Department houses the Benjamin and Gladys Thomas Air Photo Archives. They are not part of the UCLA Library system; access is by appointment only. There are fees for viewing the collections and for obtaining copies of individual photographs. The Archives provide photos from two collections:

The Spence Collection

Oblique low altitude black and white aerial photographs taken between the years 1918 to 1971. These photographs were taken at a variety of latitudes, angles, and directions, making the collection a huge assortment of unique shots. Areas covered: Extensive coverage of Los Angeles, Ventura, and Orange Counties. Southern California airports, refineries, factories, schools, hospitals, country clubs, motion picture studios, and miscellaneous real estate. Limited coverage of the following California counties: San Diego, San Joaquin, Santa Barbara, Monterey, Imperial, Inyo, Fresno, Kern, Mono, Placer, San Bernardino, and Riverside. Limited coverage of other California regions including the San Francisco Bay Area, Sierra Nevada, Mojave and Colorado Deserts, and the Colorado River. Limited coverage of Oregon, Nevada, Arizona, and other western states.

The Fairchild Collection

A variety of oblique low altitude black and white aerial photographs of Southern California between the years 1927 and 1964. Similar coverage as the Spence Collection, but not as extensive. Limited coverage of Arizona, Nevada, and other states.

Our Holdings

Series for Los Angeles City and County

Call Number

Scale

Date

Location

Geographic Coverage

G 4362s(.111) A3 5 WAC 1993 1:5000 1993 YRL A-Level Open Map Stacks (on top of cases) LA metropolitan area
**G 1528 L89 T36a 1986 1:24,000 1986 YRL A-Level Open Maps Stacks Los Angeles County
G 4360 1985 W33 1:31,680 1985–86 Map File Cabinets in YRL A-Level Reading Room Los Angeles County
G 3701 A43 s58 N38 1:58,000 1978–87 Map File Cabinets in YRL A-Level Reading Room (two sets interfiled) LA County and bordering areas of Ventura and Orange Counties
G 3701 A43 s40 N38 1:40,000 1987-
[no call number] 1:7500 1984 YRL A-Level Open Map Stacks (on top of cases) LA metropolitan area
[no call number] 1:40,000 1976? shelves behind YRL map librarian's desk Los Angeles County
G 4363s 13 MMC 1973-75 1:12,000 1973–75 YRL A-Level Open Map Stacks LA metropolitan area
***G1528 L89 L235s 1970 1:12,000 1969 YRL A-Level Atlas Case San Fernando Valley and parts of Ventura County
***G1528 L89 L235 1970 1:12,000 1970 YRL A-Level Atlas Case Los Angeles and Orange Counties
**G 1528 L89 A252 1965a 1:13,263 1965 YRL Reference Oversize Los Angeles County
**G 1528 L89 A25 1965 1:6000–1:8000 1965 YRL A-Level Atlas Case Los Angeles County

G 4364s LA City A4 48 LABE 1984

1:4800 1984 YRL A-Level Map Cases City of Los Angeles

Series for Other Cities and Counties

Call Number
Geographic Coverage

Scale

Date

Location

**G 1529 S4A4 1968
San Diego County
1:12,000 1968 YRL A-Level Atlas Case
G 4364s A4 1 CCPD 1980
City of Culver City
1:1200 1980 YRL A-Level Map Stacks
G 4364s Santa Monica A3 SMDE 1957;
City of Santa Monica
1:2400 1957 YRL A-Level Map Stacks
G 4364s Santa Monica A3 SMDE 1968
City of Santa Monica
1:2400 1968 YRL A-Level Map Stacks
G 4364s Santa Monica A3 SMDE 1980
City of Santa Monica
1:2400 1980 YRL A-Level Map Stacks

Online Sources

Satellite and Remote Sensing Images

Aerial Photos

Reference Guides and Handouts