Skip to main content

Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library History and Special Collections for the Sciences

Science and Engineering Collections

Engineering and Physical Sciences

The rare and historical materials in the physical sciences and engineering collections reflect the traditional strengths of the Science and Engineering Library, including works on chemistry, engineering, geology, math sciences, and physics.

Science and Engineering Collections

The various collections of the History and Special Collections for the Sciences Division support the study of the history of medicine, the life sciences and the physical sciences. Collections consist of books, manuscripts, archives, prints, portraits, and other artifacts. For specific questions please inquire in the division.

What's New

Franz Wilhelm JunghuhnJunghuhn, Franz Wilhelm

Topographische und naturwissenschaftliche Reisen durch Java ... zum Druck befördert und bevorwortet durch C.G. Rees von Esenbeck.

Magdeburg, E. Baensch; Rott., A. Baedeker; Amst., J. Müller, 1845. Purchased with funds from Gary E. Strong’s University Librarian’s Discretionary Fund

“Franz Wilhelm Junghuhn (1809-1864) was a German geographer and naturalist and is considered to be the unsurpassed master of scientific research and reproduction of Java. He joined the Netherlands Indies Army as a medical officer in 1834. In 1845 he became a member of the Natural Sciences Commission. He made numerous excursions in Java, climbed all mountains and inspected many craters. The first result of all of his investigations is this monumental work, a semi-autobiography, in which his description of the flora is still unsurpassed. Also included is the account of his arrival in the Netherlands and his voyage to the Dutch East Indies. His great example was Alexander von Humboldt's decription of America. The extraordinary plates, lithographed by E. Baensch, depict situation-sketches and profiles of Javanese volcanoes.”—Antiquarian book dealer notes.

BIOMED QE 527 J95t 1845 RARE

Dollfus-Ausset, DanielDaniel Dollfus-Ausset

Matériaux pour l'étude des glaciers. Paris, F. Savy (et Strasbourg, Simon), 1864 -1872.

A monumental scientific work dedicated to the study of glaciers. The work of Daniel Dollfus-Ausset on glaciers offers researchers extensive insight into the status of the principle mountains and glaciers of the high Alps in the mid 19th century as described by a diverse group of climbers and authors. This material responds to increasing concerns regarding global warming and how the environmental changes have progressed.

Purchased with funds from Gary E. Strong’s University Librarian’s Discretionary Fund

BIOMED QE 576 D665m 1864

Prints, Portraits, and Artifacts

Currently, detailed information about these collections is available only in the History Division. Many of the images are recorded in a card catalog located in the Division.

Collection Highlights

Our goal is to have an online record for every book, journal, manuscript, manuscript collection, artifact, print, and portrait in the collection and where appropriate, to make selected content available on the Web. The list below highlights just a few of the outstanding holdings in our collections.

Agricola, Georg, 1494-1555.

De ortu & causis subterraneorum, lib. V ; De natura eorum quae effluunt ex terra, lib. IIII ; De natura fossilium, lib. X ; De ueteribus & nouis metallis, lib. II ; Bermannus, siue De re metallica dialogus, lib. I / Georgii Agriola.

Interpretatio Germanica uocum rei metallicae, addito duplici indice, altero rerum, altero locorum, ; omnia ab ipso authore, cum haud pœnitenda accessione, recens recognita.

Basileae : [Per H. Frobenivm et N. Episcopivm], 1558.

BENJ *TN617 A278do 1558

Copernicus, Nicolaus, 1473-1543.

[De revolutionibus orbium caelestium] Nicolai Copernici Torinensis De revolvtionibvs orbium cœlestium, libri VI. Habes in hoc opere iam recens nato, & ædito, studiose lector, motus stellarum, tam fixarum, quàm erraticarum, cum ex ueteribus tum etiam ex recentibus obseruationibus restitutos: & nouis insuper ac admirabilibus hypothesibus ornatos. Habes etiam tabulas expeditissimas, ex quibus eosdem ad quoduis tempus quàm facillime caculare poteris. Igitur eme, lege, fruere.

Norimbergæ : apud Ioh. Petreium, 1543.

BENJ QB41 .C791dr 1543

Lavoisier, Antoine Laurent, 1743-1794.

Traité élémentaire de chimie, présenté dans un ordre nouveau et d’après les découvertes modernes; avec figures: par M. Lavoisier.

Paris : Cuchet, 1793.

WZ 260 L396t 1793

Newton, Isaac, Sir, 1642-1727

Philosophiae naturalis principia mathematica. Autore Is. Newton ... Imprimatur S. Pepys, Reg. soc. praeses. Julii 5. 1686.

Londini : Jussu Societatis Regiae ac Typis Josephi Streater. Prostat Venales apud Sam. Smith ad insignia Principis Walliae in Coemiterio D. Pauli, aliosq, nonnullos Bibliopolas, 1687.

BENJ QA803 .N484p 1687a

The William Conger Morgan Memorial Collection

The Morgan Memorial Collection, devoted largely to the history of chemistry, was established in the 1940s and named in honor of the first Chairman of the Chemistry Department, William Conger Morgan. The collection includes works of many famous, early chemists including Humphry Davy, Berzelius, Ostwald, Lavoisier, Mendeleev, Plattner, Moissan, Nernst, Abderhalden, Arrhenius, Dalton, R. Meyer and Chandler.

Indexing the Web

This site lists, indexes, and inventories a great variety of material appearing on the Web that relates to the history of medicine and the life and physical sciences.