LAUC-LA Handbook

This guide provides information and background documents for LAUC-LA Committees to carry out their charges. For a committee’s charge and roster, click that committee tab and a drop-down menu will lead to the procedures and documents for each committee.

Annual and Mid-Year Reports, 2013-2014

Download PDF files.

Annual and Mid-Year Reports - 2014

Annual and Mid-Year Reports - 2013

Annual report - August 2013

Mid-year report - April 2013

Emergency Flip Chart DRAFT - June 2013

Annual and Mid-Year Reports - 2012

Charge

Committee on Library Plans and Policies
Committee Charge

2017-18

General Charge:        

The Committee is charged with fulfilling its standing Charge as stated in Article VI. Section 4 of the LAUC-LA Bylaws:

  1. The Committee shall consist of three to five members.
  2. The Chair of the Committee shall serve as a member of the LAUC-LA Executive Board for a period of one year, commencing September 1.
  3. The Committee shall make a continuing review of existing and proposed library policies.

 

Charge

Committee on Library Plans and Policies
Committee Charge

2015-16

General Charge:        

For 2015-16 the Committee is charged with fulfilling its standing Charge as stated in Article VI. Section 4 of the LAUC-LA Bylaws (June 2014):

  1. The Committee shall consist of three to five members.
  2. The Chair of the Committee shall serve as a member of the LAUC-LA Executive Board for a period of one year, commencing September 1.
  3. The Committee shall make a continuing review of existing and proposed library policies.

Specific Charges for 2015-16:

As has been the practice in recent years, the committee will designate a member to serve as the LPP liaison to Susan Parker, Deputy University Librarian, for the 2015-16 year. The liaison will facilitate communication between the library administration and LAUC-LA in order to fulfill the charges to the committee.

Continue to work with the Library Administration Office, specifically Deputy University Librarian Susan Parker, on suggestions from previous LPP Committee concerning emergency procedures.

Review the Emergency Preparedness Resources Confluence site and report back to LAUC-LA Executive Board with suggestions for raising awareness of the availability of basic emergency response instructions.

Work with LAUC-LA website administrators and the LAUC-LA archivist to review website content migrated from unitproj, the LAUC-LA documentation migrated from SharePoint into Box, LAUC-LA documentation maintained in the Handbook, and LAUC-LA archives. Report findings to the LAUC-LA Executive Board and draft a LAUC-LA communications and archiving plan with suggestions on setting policies for the storage and maintenance of public facing LAUC-LA web presence and LAUC-LA documentation and archives.

 

Current information

YRL “Satellite” Workroom
by  Louise Ratliff
October 24, 2014

Use of the YRL Satellite Workroom by Print Acquisitions and Cataloging & Metadata Center staff.

Location: YRL A-Level, near Access Services

Access:  Key


I interviewed two library staff members who use this room.

The primary use of the area is by Preservation and Bindery (Print Acquisitions staff).

Prep unbound serials to be sent to the UC bindery

  •  Bindery processing for YRL, Arts Library, East Asian Library, College Library and the English Reading Room
    Currently used by 3 Acquisitions staff members: one career and 2 students
    Current equipment and space:
    §  3 computer workstations
    §  Book trucks (average of 3 book trucks for each 2-week outgoing shipment)
    §  Space to move, load and unload 3 book trucks
  • Shelving of older microfilms belonging to YRL

  • Usage by Cataloging & Metadata staff

    o   Currently used by 1 Cat & Met librarian
    • Access to H: and I: drives on the network
    • Preparation of procedures, projects, task lists
    • Cataloging work related to serials problems
  • Computer needs
    §  Access to the UCLA network
    §  Voyager clients (Acquisitions and Cataloging)
    §  Connexion
    §  Macro Express  
    §  Microsoft Office 2013

               

Roster

Elyse Meyers, Chair (2018)
Martin Brennan (2018)
Simon Lee (2019)
Michael Oppenheim (2019)
Dana Peterman (2019)

 

To contact any of the committee members, go to the LAUC-LA Membership Roster on the Home page of this guide or the UCLA Directory.

 

Archiving and Website Upkeep

Don't forget to archive your content!

At the end of the year, please evaluate the information on your LAUC-LA Handbook page. Any documentation that is no longer current but considered important to archive can be moved to the Historical Documents tab.

If you notice areas of the LAUC-LA website that are out of date, please email the webmaster with changes.

Roster 2012-2013

Diane Mizrachi, Chair (2013)
Tony Aponte (2014)
Diane Gurman (2013)
Maria Jankowska (2014)
Sharon Shafer (2013)
Elizabeth Graham (2014 - resigned 2/2013 upon leaving UCLA)
Maria Jankowski (2014 - replaced Elizabeth Graham)

Roster 2011-2012

Diane Mizrachi, Chair (2013)
David Cappoli (2012)
Diane Gurman (2013)
Maria Jankowska (2012)
Sharon Shafer (2013)

Roster 2010-2011

Rita Costello, Chair (2011)
Cathy Brown (2012)
Nancy Norris (2012)
Maria Jankowska (2012)
David Cappoli (2012)
Vicki Steiner (2012)