Last Updated: Sep 30, 2014
- Biblioteca Digitale (BNCF)
A growing collection of digitized manuscripts, books, periodicals, maps, etc. from the National Library in Florence.
- Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database
1,780 vernacular texts dated prior to 1375, including Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as many lesser-known texts. Browse the OVI database.
- Dartmouth Dante Project
Contains the full text of "La Commedia" and commentaries by more than 70 authors. Free resource.
- Decameron Web
An online archive of materials dedicated to Boccaccio's masterpiece. Free resource.
- Biblioteca della Letteratura Italiana
A growing resource of Italian literary texts.
A digitized multimedia library of the European cultural heritage: digitized books, manuscripts, photos, paintings, maps, audio and film material, newspapers, etc.
- The World of Dante
A multi-media research tool intended to facilitate the study of the Divine Comedy through a wide range of offerings, e.g. an encoded Italian text which allows for structured searches and analyses, an English translation, interactive maps, diagrams, music, a database, timeline and gallery of illustrations.
UCLA holds one of the richest collections of Italian materials in the US. This list is just a sample of the most important ones. Search the Online Archive of California for more information.
- Collection of material about the Orsini family, 1200-1929
YRL Special Collections. The 524 boxes of the Orsini Family papers date from the 14th to the 20th century, with the bulk of the collection's holdings in the 17th through the 19th centuries. The collection contains documents concerning foreign states and attendance on the papal throne; inventories describing the property of the Orsinis; inventories of marriage settlements and dowries, inheritances, donations, and wills; and topographical and architectural plans of property owned and managed by the family.
- Ahmanson-Murphy Aldine Collection (catalog)
YRL Special Collections. The foremost Aldine collection in North America. The UCLA collection contains more than 750 items listed in A.-A. Renouard's Annales de l"imprimerie des Alde (Paris: Jules Renouard, 1834). Catalog
- Ahmanson-Murphy Collection of Early Italian Printing
YRL Special Collections. More than three hundred printers are represented, with more comprehensive holdings of Antonio Blado of Rome, Gabriele Giolito de Ferrari of Venice, and Giunti family of Florence and Venice. The collection preserves nearly three hundred 15th-century Italian books, exclusive of the Aldines.
- The Elmer Belt Library of Vinciana
A special collection of books and materials concerning Leonardo da Vinci and the Italian Renaissance. The Library was given to UCLA in 1961 by Dr. Elmer Belt, a Professor Emeritus in the UCLA School of Medicine and a collector of Vinciana for over sixty years.
- Raccolta de' Drammi (Venetian opera libretto collection)
1286 published librettos, bound in chronological order, comprehensively representing Venetian opera productions between 1637 and 1769. Music Library, Special Collections. The library has additional extensive holdings of 18th and 19th century Italian opera librettos.
Printed catalog to the individual titles of the libretti:
Catalog of Venetian librettos at the University of California, Los Angeles by Irene Alm. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1993
- Consilia / Statuti Collection
A collection of juridical works from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries, containing material for the legal history of the later Middle Ages and the early modern period, especially in Italy. Search for title "Consilia Statuti" on the catalog for individual titles.
Librarian for the West European Collections:
kradics at library.ucla.edu