Skip to main content

Impact Metrics and Scholarly Attribution

Discover your research impact, manage attribution of your research works, and search citations.

Web of Science Cited Reference Search

This is the traditional, highly respected citation research source that uses the Web of Science database (from Thomson Reuters and part of the Web of Knowledge) to search the citation references of scholarly articles in over 10,000 of the highest impact, well-regarded journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. Web of Science contains authoritative, scholarly multidisciplinary content in the Sciences (1900+), Social/ Behavioral Science (1900+), and Arts & Humanities (1956+).

Cited Reference Search can be used to:

  • Tally the citation count for an article, paper, book or even work of art.
  • Find variant forms of a citation that might not be retrieved in a regular database search.
  • List the journal articles that cite the item.
  • Eliminate self-citations
  • Create a Citation Map

Cited Reference Search is a forward search, which finds articles that cite the article being searched. Thus, results will consist of articles with later publication dates.

How to Perform a Cited Reference Search:

1. Go to Web of Science Cited Reference Search.

2. Enter information about the article(s) you wish to citation track. Note: the Cited Reference Search will also walk you through step-by-step the information necessary to perform your search.

3. The search fields can be filled out with different information, like Cited Author, Volume, Title, etc., but these fields can be changed to suit your needs. Keep in mind when inputting the author’s information to:

  • Be especially careful with author names.
  • Use only the first initial with an asterisk to include citations with either the initial or full first name.
  • List alternative spellings of last names separated by an "OR".

4. You can also search by the Index for a Cited Author and a Cited Work to find the information that you are looking for.

5. Remember: try to keep the information broad enough to include possible name variants and citing errors.

6. If you scroll down to “More Settings”, then you can adjust to see which databases and indexes that you want to search.

 

Cited Reference Search Results:

To more completely identify the article(s) you're interested in, click on "Show Expanded Titles" in the heading bar. Look at the results carefully. (To switch back, click on "Show Abbreviated Titles") As shown in the example below, look for and select all variants of the article you're looking for. In some cases, entries has an incorrect volume number.

Click Finish Search to view a list of citing articles. The number of citing articles may vary from the number on the results page. This is due to some of the citing articles being in Web of Knowledge databases that are not part of the UCLA Web of Science subscription.

 

Cited Article Full Record:

To access more information, go back to the results page, and click on the blue “View Record” link of the original cited work.  This takes one to the article’s information page, where the “Citation Network” is listed, which includes information about how often the article is cited and where it is cited in Web of Science databases.

This page can also link you to full text articles through UC-eLinks or other links, such as Google Scholar. You can also place the citation into Endnote and other formats.  You can also format the citation for printing or email it to yourself.

Please note: Cited References are the articles cited in the original paper.

Thus, by following both citing articles and cited references, it's possible to go backwards and forwards tracking citations from paper to paper through time. 

 

Create Citation Alert

Setting up a Citation Alert allows you to be automatically notified whenever a specified article in Web of Science is newly cited. From an article's record, just click on the icon: