Primary Sources at UCLA Special Collections
UCLA holds a rich collections of German materials. This list includes a few examples. Search the Online Archive of California for more information
- Franz Werfel Papers 1910-1944Materials found in Werfel's study at the time of his death. Includes correspondence, manuscripts, clippings and printed materials, pictures, artifacts, periodicals, and books.
- Arthur Schnitzler Papers 1875-1931Microfilm copies of the Arthur Schnitzler Archives from Cambridge. The microfilm includes manuscripts, correspondence, scripts, sketches, a dissertation on Schnitzler, and autobiographical material and documents related to Arthur Schnitzler's father, Johann Schnitzler.
- Rudolf Carnap Papers, 1920-1968Correspondence, audio tapes of lectures, notebooks, literary manuscripts (some unpublished), corrected galleys, books, and periodicals.
- National Socialism in Germany and the United States, 1933-1965The German part of the collection includes pamphlets, newspapers, books, magazines, pictures, photographs, filmstrips, slides, ephemera, and objects relating to the Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter-Partei in Germany.
- Lothar Meggendorfer Papers, ca. 1888-1943The collection consists of manuscripts and proofs of illustrations, covers, texts, and two books created by Meggendorfer.
- Children's Book CollectionThe strength of the collection resides in English and American publications before 1840, supported by foreign language editions, pop-up and other movable books, and harlequinades—among them more than 100 seventeenth to nineteenth century books in German.
Finding Books and Journals in Catalogs
- Accessing licensed library resources from home or elsewhere?How to configure your computer with the Proxy Server.
- UCLA Library CatalogCatalog of the holdings of the different UCLA libraries.
- Melvyl CatalogCatalog of all library holdings of ten University of California libraries.
- WorldCatA catalog of books and other library materials held in libraries worldwide.
- UCLA Film and Television ArchiveOnline bibliographic access to the holdings of the UCLA Film and Television Archive. The institution provides scholarly and educational access to the Archive's collections in a state-of-the-art viewing facility with 90 viewing stations.
- Online Archive of CaliforniaThe OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
- Google ScholarBroad Internet search for scholarly literature: digitized books, periodicals, etc.
Primary Sources Online
- Digitale Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker im WWWFull text database of German texts. Includes works of major German literary works as well as historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of. essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. It contains all the Deutscher Klassiker Verlag editions except Schiller, Goethe and Wieland. (Complete list of works included)
- Schillers Werke im WWW. NationalausgabeElectronic version of the definitive Nationalausgabe of Schiller’s works. Click on the link "About Schillers Werke" for completeness information.
- Monumenta Germaniae HistoricaA selection of texts from all five divisions of Monumenta Germaniae Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates).
- EuropeanaA digitized multimedia library of the European cultural heritage: digitized books, manuscripts, photos, paintings, maps, audio and film material, newspapers, etc.
- Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB)Unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage: millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, pieces of music and other sound documents, as well as films and scores, from all over Germany.
Primary Sources on Microform
- Bibliothek der deutschen LiteraturPT1101 B471 Reference area, YRL. Major collection of German first editions. The collection is based on the Taschengoedeke edition. More than 15,000 works by almost 2,500 authors. Individual titles of the collection are listed on the UCLA Library catalog.
- German Books before 1601SRLF. Includes over 3000 German, Swiss, and Austrian printed books from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl.
- Flugschriften des frühen 16. Jahrhunderts (1501-1530)Z240.4 F68
- Deutsche Zeitschriften des 18. und 19. JahrhundertsCooperative acquisition of UC libraries, the set is held at the UC Berkeley library. Please ask for rolls including items you want through ILL.
- German baroque literature, Harold Jantz collectionPT 1100. G47. Individual titles listed on the UCLA Library catalog.
- German and Austrian DramaSRLF. Guide to the collection: PN1620.H68 G47 1984 (Microform and Media)
- Johann Caspar Lavater correspondenceZentralbibliothek Zürich, 1846 microfiches: PT2392.L2 Z5 2001; guide: The correspondence of Johann Caspar Lavater (1741-1801) : guide to the microform collection, PT2392.L2 Z5 2001 guide
- Deutsche Kulturzeitschriften des 19. Jahrhunderts : Mikrofiche-Volltextausgabe zu Alfred Estermanns Inhaltsanalytische Bibliographien deutscher Kulturzeitschriften des 19. Jahrhunderts (IBDK)SRLF and YRL PN5203 .D48 2002 Microfiche Contents: Lfg. 1. Deutsches Museum (1851-1867). Telegraph für Deutschland (1837-1848) (fiche 1-274) -- Lfg. 2. Die Gartenlaube (1853-1880) (fiche 275-585) -- Lfg. 3. Berliner Conversations-Blatt (1827-1829). Der Freihafen (1838-1844). Hallische Jahrbücher für deutsche Wissenschaft und Kunst (1838-1844). Königsberger Literatur-Blatt (1841/42-1845). Phönix (1835-1838). Frankfurter Museum (1855-1859). Neues Frankfurter Museum (1861). Weimarer Sonntags-Blatt (1854, 1855-1857). Deutsche Roman-Zeitung (1864-1880) (fiche 586-956) -- Lfg. 4. Das Jahrhundert. Deutsches Magazin. Freya. Orion. Deutsche Warte. Der Salon (fiche 957-1297) -- Lfg. 5. Westermanns Monatshefte (1856-1880) (fiche 1298-1498) -- Lfg. 6. Blätter für literarische Unterhaltung (1826-1850).
- German Colonial ArchivesThe German government archive (Bundesarchiv) has microfilmed some two million pages of documents from the German Colonial Office (Reichskolonialamt). CRL, under Reichskolonialamt : Bestand R 1001 / bearbeitet von Michael Hollmann. Online finding aid available through the CRL catalog.
- Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter-Partei. HauptarchivHoover Institution microfilm collection. YRL DD2 Microfilm. Guide
- Captured German Records Filmed at Berlin. Miscellaneous non-biographic material: "Schumacher material"Roll 999 is the index to the collection. SRLF Barcode: M0000449835
- European Women’s PeriodicalsPN 5110 E97 Guide
- Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1930-1939 : foreign affairs.
- Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1940-1944 : foreign affairs.
- Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1942-1944 : internal affairs.
- Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, internal affairs, 1945-1949 : [edited by Paul Kesaris]
- German Language Newspaper Access in North AmericaA clearinghouse of microfilmed newspapers in U.S. libraries.
German Studies

Librarian for the West European Collections:
Katalin Radics
Contact Information
E-mail, Phone, Address
***********************
Department of Germanic Languages
Primary Sources on CD-ROM
- Bertolt Brechts WerkeJubiläumsausgabe auf CD-ROM : ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden. PT2603.R397 1999
- Goethes Werkeauf CD-ROM. Weimarer Ausgabe. PT1891 .C95 1995
- Kafkas Werkekritische Kafka-Ausgabe des S. Fischer Verlages bei Chadwyck-Healey. PT2621.A26 1999
- Kant's gesammelte SchriftenB2753 1988
- The library holds cd-rom editions of the selected works of a number of other German authors (e.g. Theodor Fontane, Heinrich Heine, E.T.A. Hoffmann, G. E. Lessing, Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels, Kurt Tucholsky, etc.) as well.


Loading...
