World Folklore and Folklife Provides access to a variety of online reference sources specializing in folklore and related topics.
Folktexts: A library of folktales, folklore, fairy tales and mythology edited and/or translated by D.L. Ashliman
Camelot Project: A database of Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information
SurLaLune Fairy Tales: features 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern interpretations and over 1,500 illustrations.
Folklore Fellows Communications: an international network of folklorists which promotes scientific contacts between researchers, publication work and research training.
Online Medieval & Classical Library: offers reliable translations of the original texts
Internet Medieval Sourcebook Full Text Sources for medieval history
World Oral Literature Project: global initiative to document and make accessible endangered oral literatures before they disappear without record.
Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) World Cultures: a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
American Theological Libraries Association (ATLA) Religion Database: Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion; includes articles written in 36 languages.
Apollodorus: translation sponsored by Tufts University
Center for Hellenic Studies: Brings together a variety of research and teaching interests centering on Hellenic civilization.
A Companion to Greek Mythology (also in print) Presents a series of essays that explore the phenomenon of Greek myth
The Loeb Classical Library (also in print): Works of ancient Greek and Latin literature with English translations.
Perseus Digital Library: Sponsored by Tufts University
The Vergil Project: Resources for students, teachers, and readers of Vergil.
Theoi Greek Mythology Free reference guide to the gods, spirits, fabulous creatures and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion.
CELT: brings the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture on the Internet for free, for the use and benefit of everyone worldwide
Thesaurus Linguae Hibernicae: An on-line research and teaching tool from the School of Irish, University College, Dublin
Bibliography of Irish Linguistics and Literature: Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies
Celtic Studies Association of North America Bibliography, UCLA: indexes a broad range of publications, including books, periodicals, Festschriften, proceedings and other works relevant to the study of Celtic languages and literatures.
VanHamel The A. G. van Hamel Foundation for Celtic Studies site (in Dutch and partly in English).
Viking Society: The Viking Society for Northern Research is making virtually all its publications (and some other related items) from inception in 1893 to the present freely available on this website, though recent titles may not be released until five years from the date of publication.
New Northvegr Center: A web resource for the advancement of knowledge and understanding in areas related to heathen lore and literature. Contains most of the sagas in English translation.
Icelandic Saga Database: Dedicated to the digital publication of the Sagas of the Icelanders -- a large body of medieval literature which forms the foundation of the Icelandic literary tradition (in English translation).
Scandinavian Studies: Online guide to more details on Scandinavian primary, secondary and online resources
Germanic Mythology Texts, translations, scholarship
Legends of the Jews: by Louis Ginzberg, complete full-text online free
Jewish Encyclopedia: A digitized version of the original 1903-1906 encyclopedia.
Uysal-Walker Archive of Turkish Oral Narrative (U-W ATON): located in the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library at Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas
Ancient Mesopotamian Gods and Goddesses: This website offers information about the fifty most important gods and goddesses and provides starting points for further research.
UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology: The knowledge of Egyptologists, archaeologists, linguists, geologists, and all other professionals who are involved in research related to Ancient Egypt reflect the interdisciplinary approach that is needed to make sense of such a wealth of information. The peer-reviewed articles of the UEE are written by the world's leading scholars.
The Electronic Text Corpus of Sumerian Literature
US Bureau of Ethnology Annual Reports: the Bureau of Ethnology (later the Bureau of American Ethnology) was established in 1879 to engage in an anthropological study of the native peoples of the United States.