Core Journals (Western Languages)
Here is a list of major journals in Japanese literary studies and Japanese aesthetics:
- Asiatische Studien. Études asiatiquesPrint Only
- British journal of aestheticsPrint and Online
- Harvard journal of Asiatic studiesPrint and Online
- Japanese journal of religious studiesPrint Only
- Journal of Asian studiesPrint and Online
- Journal of Japanese stuidiesPrint and Online
- Journal of the American Oriental SocietyPrint and Online
- Monumenta NipponicaPrint and Online
- Oriens extremusPrint Only
- Philosophy East and WestPrint and Online
Literature
RSS feed is available from 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧.
- Bungaku 文学 (Tokyo, Japan : 2000)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .B822 - Bungakukai 文學界 (Tokyo, Japan : 1947)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .B864 - Bungei 文藝 (Tokyo, Japan : 1962)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .B865 - Gendaishi techō 現代詩手帖View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL757 .G45 - Gunzō 群像View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .G95 - Haiku 俳句 (Tokyo, Japan)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL729 .H37 - Hikaku bungaku 比較文学View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PN851 .H54 - Kanbun kyōshitsu 漢文教室Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL2250 .K35
- Kinsei bungei 近世文芸View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K56 - Kodai bungaku 古代文学View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K58 - Kokubungaku gengo to bungei 国文学言語と文芸Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K659
- Kokubungaku kaishaku to kanshō 国文学解釋と鑑賞View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K59 - Kokubungaku kenkyū 国文学研究View RSS feed
Location: SRLF ; Call Number: 5861 K89 - Nihon bungaku 日本文学View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .N54 - Renga haikai kenkyū 連歌俳諧研究View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL732.R4 H3 - Shinchō 新潮View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .S545 - Tanka kenkyū 短歌硏究 (Tokyo, Japan : 1944)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL728 .T3936 - Waka bungaku kenkyū 和歌文学硏究View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL758.A1 W34 - Yuriika ユリイカ = EurekaView RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: AP95.J2 Y87
Catalogs of Old Japanese Books
- Catalog of rare Japanese materials at the University of California, Los Angeles = カリフォルニア大学ロサンゼルス校所蔵日本古典籍目錄 / 鈴木淳, 三木身保子編A catalog of old and rare Japanese materials held by UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library History and Special Collections for the Sciences, Charles E. Young Research Library Department of Special Collections, and East Asian Library.
- Directory of North American Collections of Old and Rare Japanese Books, Other Print Materials, and ManuscriptsDescriptions of and contact information for collections in North American academic libraries and museums
- Nihon kotenseki sōgō mokuroku 日本古典籍総合目録A union catalog of Japanese old and rare books originally produced before 1868; combines 『国書総目録』 and 『古典籍総合目録』 and more.
- Zenkoku Kanseki Dētabēsu 全國漢籍データベースUnion catalog of Chinese books held by Japanese libraries provided by Center for Informatics in East Asian Studies, Institute for Research in Humanities, Kyoto University
Article Indexes and Full Text Articles
Here is a short list of useful articles databases for classical Japanese literary studies. Note that many of these sources only index to journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold "UC-eLinks" button to do an automated search to find the full text or citation linker, or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog. See also "Articles and Books (Scholarly)" page under "By Source Type" tab for more general article indexes.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Repository of scholarly journals. Warning: does not contain the most recent 3-5 years. If you only search JSTOR, you may be missing a lot.
- Kokubungaku ronbun mokuroku dētabēsu 国文学論文目録データベースBibliographic database of books and articles on Japanese literature since 1912, maintained by the National Institute of Japanese Literature
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
Bibliographies
- An introductory bibliography for Japanese studiesCovers major Japanese works published in Japan on a variety of subjects.
Location: YRL ; Call Number: Z3306 .I59 (Pt. 2 for Humanities) - Bungei nenkan 文芸年鑑Annual; began in 1929
Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL701 .B85 - Bungei zasshi shōsetsu shoshutsu sōran, 1945-1980 文芸雑誌小說初出総覧, 1945-1980 / 勝又浩監修Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: Z3308.L5 B86 2005
A sequal ed. for 1981-2005 is available at Z3308.L5 .B862 2006 - Buyō o Shiri, Manabu tame no Kihonteki na Bunken Risuto 舞踊を知り、学ぶための基本的な文献リストCompiled by Naomi Inata
- Gendai bungaku kenkyū : Jōhō to shiryō 現代文学硏究 : 情報と資料 / 編集 長谷川泉Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: Z3308.L5 G45
- Gendai bungaku kenkyū jiten 現代文学研究事典 / 大久保典夫, 高橋春雄編.Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL726.65 .G39 1983
- Gendai Nihon bungaku sōran shirīzu 現代日本文学綜覧シリーズLocation: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: Z3308.L5 G46 1982
- Jōdai bungaku kenkyū jiten 上代文学研究事典 / 小野寬, 櫻井満編Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL726.12 .J54 1996
- Kinsei bungaku kenkyū jiten 近世文学研究事典 / 岡本勝, 雲英末雄編Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL726.35 .K45 2006
- Kokubungaku ronbun mokuroku dētabēsu 国文学論文目録データベースBibliographic database of books and articles on Japanese literature since 1912, maintained by the National Institute of Japanese Literature
- Nihon bungaku kenkyū bunken yōran : gendai Nihon bungaku 日本文学研究文献要覧 : 現代日本文学1975-1984, 1985-1989, 1990-1994, 1995-1999, 2000-2004
- Nihon bungaku kenkyū bunken yōran : Koten bungaku 日本文学研究文献要覧 : 古典文学1975-1084, 1985-1989
- Nihon koten bungaku kenkyūshi daijiten 日本古典文学硏究史大事典 / 西沢正史, 徳田武編Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL726.1 .N54 1997
Texts and Translations
- Aozora Bunko 青空文庫Modern Japanese literary works in full-text.
- Digital Library from the Meiji Era = 近代デジタルライブラリーFull-text works published during the Meiji period and owned by the National Diet Library
- Gendai bungaku kenkyū : Jōhō to shiryō 現代文学硏究 : 情報と資料 / 編集 長谷川泉Location: EAL ; Call Number: Z3308.L5 G45
- Gunsho ruijū 群書類從Sequel editions Zoku Gunsho ruijū, Zokuzoku Gunsho ruijū, etc., and annotation volumes Gunsho kaidai, Shinkō Gunsho ruijū kaidaishū also available.
Location: EAL ; Call Number: AC145 .G85 1928 - Index TranslationumA database of translations maintained by UNESCO
- Japanese Literature in Translation Search = 日本文学翻訳書誌検索A database of translations of literary works into a variety of languages; maintained by the Japan Foundation
- Japanese Text Initiative = 日本語テキストイニシアチブTexts of classical and modern literature; collaborative effort of the University of Virginia Library Electronic Text Center and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library
- Kabuki daichō shūsei 歌舞伎台帳集成Location: EAL ; Call Number: PL767 .K23 1983
- Kindai bunken jōhō dētabēsu 近代文献情報データベース = Bibliographical Information Database of Japanese Modern TimesDatabase provided by the National Institute of Japanese Literature, consisting of bibliographic information and image data of literary studies from the Meiji period
- Kisho Fukuseikai sōsho 稀書複製會叢書 / 編輯 山田淸作Location: EAL ; Call Number: AC145 .K57 1918
- Kokubungaku fukusei honkoku shomoku sōran 国文学複製翻刻書目総覧 / 市古貞次, 大曾根章介編Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: Z3308.L5 I28 1982
A sequel ed. was published in 1989 and is available at [Ref.] Z3308.L5 I282 1989 - Kokubungaku Kenkyū Shiryōkan Dētabēsu, honbun dētabēsu 国文学研究資料館データベース: 本文データベースFull texts from ''Nihon koten bungaku taikei''(Iwanami Shoten, 1957-67), ''Nijuichidaishu'', ''Koji ruien'', etc. are available
- Koten bungaku zenshū, honkokusho, kenkyūsho sōmokuroku 古典文学全集・翻刻書・研究書総目録 / 石黒吉次郎監修 ; [編集 日外アソシエーツ株式会社]Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: Z3308.L5 K68 1996
- Kotenseki Sogo Database, Japanese & Chinese Classics 古典籍総合データベースWaseda University Library provides access to digital images of their holidngs of Japanese and Chinese classics (ca. 300,000 volumes digitized)
- Nihon shisō taikei 日本思想大系Cataloged separately; search individual titles.
- Premodern Japanese Texts and TranslationsBibliography of translations and reviews of the literary works up to about 1600; includes works written in kanbun and Chinese
- Shin Nihon koten bungaku taikei 新日本古典文学大系Cataloged separately; search individual titles.
- Shinchō Nihon koten shūsei 新潮日本古典集成Cataloged separately; search individual titles.
- Shinpen Kokka taikan 新編国歌大観CD-ROM version is available for use at the Reading Room of East Asian Library.
- Shinpen Nihon koten bungaku zenshū 新編日本古典文学全集Provides modern Japanese translation; some volumes of the series are available in JapanKnowledge in PDF format.
- Shinshaku kanbun taikei 新釈漢文大系Location: EAL ; Call Number: PL755.1 .S55 1994
- Tōkyō Daigaku Shiryō Hensanjo Dētabēsu 東京大学史料編纂所データベースDatabases including the index to Dai Nihon shiryō; full-text of Dai Nihon komonjo, Dai Nihon kokiroku, and Heian ibun, the Online Glossary of Japanese Historical Terms, etc.
- Tōyō bunko 東洋文庫 (Heibonsha)Available via JapanKnowledge. Digitized version of the Heibonsha series ''Tōyō bunko'' in PDF format
Dictionaries
- Gendai josei bungaku jiten 現代女性文学辞典 : 付・現代女性文学略年表 / 村松定孝, 渡辺澄子編Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL725 .G46 1990
- Gendai Nihon bungaku daijiten 現代日本文学大事典 / 久松潜一 ... [et al.] 編修Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL726.6 .G44 1978
- Haibungaku daijiten 俳文学大辞典 / [監修 加藤楸邨, 大谷篤蔵, 井本農一 ; 編者 尾形仂 ... et al.].Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL729 .H254 1995
- JapanKnowledgeProvides access to basic Japanese reference sources including encyclopedias and dictionaries (e.g., 日本大百科全書, 日本国語大辞典, 國史大辭典, Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.) and 東洋文庫
- Kadokawa kogo daijiten 角川古語大辞典 / 中村幸彥, 岡見正雄, 阪倉篤義Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL682 .K32 1982
- Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan OnlineJapanese art, culture, and history covering from Paleolithic to the present. UCLA contract allows two concurrent users.
- Koji ruien dētabēsu 古事類苑データベースOnline version of Koji ruien; full text search is available from Kokubunken Digital Library website
- Nihon bungei kanshō jiten 日本文芸鑑賞事典 : 近代名作1017選への招待 / [監修 井上靖...et al. ; 編纂 石本隆一...et al.].Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL707 .N52 1987
- Nihon gendai bungaku daijiten 日本現代文学大事典 / 編者 三好行雄...[et al].Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL726.6 .N48 1994
- Nihon gendai shōsetsu daijiten 日本現代小說大事典 / 浅井清, 佐藤勝編Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL747.55 .N49 2004
- Nihon kindai bungaku daijiten 日本近代文学大辞典 / [編者 小田切進], 日本近代文学館編.Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL707 .N54
- Nihon koten bungaku daijiten 日本古典文学大辞典 / [編 集者 日本古典文学大辞典編集委員会 ; 編集委員 監修 市古貞次 ... et al.]Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL726.1 .N5
Biographical Information
- Gendai josei sakka kenkyū jiten 現代女性作家研究事典 / 川村湊, 原善編Location: EAL ; Call Number: PL747.65 .G45 2001
- Japanese Biographical Archive (microfiche)Search Tips: use the online index for World Biographical Information System.
- Jige kaden Haga jinmei jiten dētabēsu 地下家伝・芳賀人名辞典データベース）Includes ''Nihon jinmei jiten'' (1914) by Haga Yaichi (1867-1917) and ''Jige kaden'' (1937-1938) by Mikami Kagefumi and Masamune Atsuo (1881-1958)
- Kindai bungaku kenkyū sōsho 近代文学研究叢書 / 昭和女子大学近代文学研究室著Location: SRLF ; Call Number: 5877 S55
- Kokusho jinmei jiten 国書人名辞典 / [編者 市古貞次...et al.]Approximately 30,000 pre-modern Japanese writers are listed, based on Kokusho sōmokuroku. Provides index arranged by characters for various names, including real names, pennames, etc.
- Rekishi jinbuntsu gazō dētabēsu 歴史人物画像データベースIncludes images of historical figures dipicted in Japanese old and rare publications
- Sakka, shōsetsuka jinmei jiten 作家・小說家人名事典Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL723 .S325 1990
Handbooks/Chronological Tables
- Shinbun shōsetsushi nenpyō 新聞小說史年表 / 高木健夫.Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL747.55 .T34 1987
- Shinpan Nihon bungaku dainenpyō 新版日本文学大年表 / 市古貞次, 久保田淳編Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL719.5 .S55 2002
- Shōwa bungaku nenpyō 昭和文学年表 / 監修 谷沢永一 ; 編集 浦西和彥, 青山毅Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: 726.65 .U725 1995