Patents Searching Resources
Patent Tutorials
- Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Derwent Innovations Index facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
- European Patent Office (Espacenet)Simple searches on bibliographic data in patent documents. The default printing option is page by page only - but they are free. To print an entire patent, follow these instructions: Search for a patent. Click on a title; when the page loads, click on the original document tab. When this page displays, the printer icon is grayed out. Click on Save Full Document at the top of the page. Read the screen and enter the letters shown. The entire document loads now as a pdf and all the pages can be printed.
- Patents, U.S. (Google)Provides simple and advanced searches of U.S. Patents; PDF files.
- The Lens (Formerly known as Patent Lens)A free, open-access patent and scholarly information resource. More than 117 million patent records from over 95 jurisdictions. Over 200 million scholarly records across all disciplines.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, and Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. Provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature.The MarvinSketch structure editor works with the campus VPN, but not the proxy server. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). Already registered? Go directly to SciFinder-n.
- USPTO (US Patent and Trademark Office) DatabaseGood site to search for most recent US patents. Searches front page information in US patent starting from 1790. Searches full-text information in US patents issued starting 1976 to the Tuesday prior to today's date (US patents are issued every Tuesday). You can download the full text images as TIFF files - page by page only - but they are free.
- USPTO Full-Page ImagesHow to access and view U.S. Patent Full-Page Images
Search Note: Patent images are only accessible from the full-text display of each patent. Patent images must be retrieved one page at a time. This is necessary since patents can be as long as 5,000 pages, and the resources required to download such jumbo patents are not available. - FreepatentsOnlineMillions of US patents searchable. One PDF per patent Future plans to add US applications.
- DEPATISnet informationDatabase contains US (1790+), EP(1978+) and WO (1978+). Database also contains the following country patents:
DE-1877+, DD-1946+, AT-1920+, CH-1888+, FR-1920+, GB-1920+, JP-1976+
Patents and Applications are in one site. Link to full text of patent.
Website is available in English and German
You can download the full text images as PDF files - page by page - but they are free
Patent Guides
- Patents and Patent Searching (UCLA Rosenfeld Management Library Research Guide)Comprehensive guide on locating patents.