Library Catalog
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
E-book Collections
Full list of E-books in Science and Engineering. All e-books and reference works can also be found in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A repository of fully searchable engineering content. Includes the latest editions of classics such as Marks; Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more. - Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative and current medical data, updated daily. The central resource comprises databases of medical texts covering internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. - ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of standards and technical engineering information. Covers aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- Cambridge eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes most science and engineering titles from 2014 to present. - Colloquium Digital Library of Life SciencesColloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50- to 100-pages long.
- IEEE-Wiley E-Books 1974-2010
- This link opens in a new window
(Use Wiley Online Library for 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.)
IEEE Xplore E-books provides Web access to more than over 1,000 E-books from the fields of electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Individual chapters can be downloaded as a PDF. - Knovel LibrarySearch/browse 2500+ science and engineering encyclopedias, handbooks, texts, and databases. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical & physical property data.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OHE includes more than 38K computer science, engineering, business book titles from 200+ publishers, as well as video, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Includes pre-publication titles published by O'Reilly. Titles are HTML only. Replaces the Safari Tech Books Online collection.
Note: Access with Single Sign On after choosing University of California, Los Angeles from the list of institutions. Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at UC campuses. No community use.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and e-books in the sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection.
- SPIE eBooks 1989-presentThe SPIE Digital Library and eBooks is an extensive resource for over 160 e-books on optics and photonics.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search. - Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-searching of more than 46 medical texts including Stedman's Medical Dictionary and popular texts from McGraw Hill, Mosby, Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, and the MEDLINE database.
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer ScienceContains many 50- to 100-page "Lectures", or self-contained e-books that synthesize a research or development topic, authored by an expert.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fifteen databases, plus individual journals and e-books. Includes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
Reference Works (encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, etc.)
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Volume 1Focuses on the basics of biomedical engineering, including biomedical systems analysis, biomechanics of the human body, biomaterials, and bioelectronics.
- Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Volume 2Provides information on breakthrough developments in medical device design, diagnostic equipment design, surgery, rehabilitation engineering, prosthetics design, and clinical engineering.
- The Biomedical Engineering Handbook, Fourth EditionFour volumes including: Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals; Medical Devices and Human Engineering; Biomedical Signals, Imaging, and Informatics; Molecular, Cellular, and Tissue Engineering
- Comprehensive Biotechnology (Second Edition)Six volume set: Scientific Fundamentals of Biotechnology; Engineering Fundamentals of Biotechnology; Industrial Biotechnology and Commodity Products; Agricultural and Related Biotechnologies; Medical Biotechnology and Healthcare; Environmental Biotechnology and Safety
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry IIIPresents a comprehensive overview of the major developments in the field of organic chemistry since 1993.
- Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical EngineeringThis resource surveys biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials; resource follows current lines of research as well as innovative applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices.
- Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical EngineeringFor biomedical engineers, the Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering is a representation of the vast diversity of the field and its multi-and cross-disciplinary structure. The Encyclopedia includes material to meet the needs of readers ranging from undergraduate and graduate students, and research scientists and experts.
- The World Scientific Encyclopedia of Nanomedicine and Bioengineering INanotechnology for Translational Medicine: Tissue Engineering, Biological Sensing, Medical Imaging, and Therapeutics
(A 4-Volume Set) - The World Scientific Encyclopedia of Nanomedicine and Bioengineering IIBioimplants, Regenerative Medicine, and Nano-Cancer Diagnosis and Phototherapy
(A 3-Volume Set)