Librarian
Ruby A. Bell-Gam
Contact:
Charles E. Young Research Library, A-1540
Subjects: Africa, Global & International Studies
Cultural Resources/Collections in Los Angeles Area and Beyond
Language instructors of African languages at UCLA can organize visits to the places listed on this page for their students to relate a new language to its embedded culture.
Regular and Upcoming Cultural Events
- Los Angeles Drum and Dance Events (Africanbeat)Provides lists of events related to African music (drum and dance) in southern California.
- Pan African Film and Arts FestivalAn annual event in Los Angeles.
Restaurants
Museums, Libraries, and Related Institutions
- African Art Collection -- Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)See also the collection's highlights.
- Africa: One Continent. Many Worlds -- Natural History Museum of Los Angeles CountyFor educators, students and other museum goers to know more about Africa, its peoples and the Continent's rich natural resources.
- Los Angeles Public LibraryCollections including books, film videos, and music CDs that can be checked out free of charge by library card holders (comprises African language instructional materials).
- Gale Directory Library (was Associations Unlimited) (Online via Los Angeles Public Library)The online version of the Encyclopedia of Associations is available via LAPL. You need a Los Angeles Public Library ECARD and PIN to access this database from home. Scroll down the page and click on the link to Gale Directory Library.
Book Stores
Both independent and chain book stores around Los Angeles area hold materials on African languages for browsing or purchasing (search by language names).