Google Scholar for Tibetan Studies
UCLA Tibetan Studies Collections
This guide is intended for researchers and students with a focus on Tibet, including a large Tibetan Diaspora worldwide.
Information on UCLA collections, as well as freely accessible material elsewhere, are included. The guide provides pathways to a variety of resource formats: printed and online books, journals and magazines, news sources, maps, and government documents, as well as film and video, sound-recordings, and statistical data sets.
Please note that off-campus access to licensed resources requires user authentication through the proxy server and VPN.
Tibetan Studies Links
- Asian Legal Information InstituteDatabases from twenty-eight Asian countries and territories.
- Columbia Online Research Guide for Modern Tibetan StudiesThis site includes valuable bibliographic citation information for bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, GIS, and historical inquiry.
- International Institute for Tibetan and Buddhist Studies (IITBS)Founded in 1966, the Institute promotes and publishes research on Tibet and Buddhism.
- Latse Contemporary Tibetan Cultural LibraryThis library site contains an on-line version of Bya-ra: a Tibetan Research Database.
- Library of Tibetan Works & Archives (LTWA)Founded by the Dalai Lama in Dharmsala, India, in 1970, this complete research center is dedicated to the preservation and promotion of Tibetan culture. Includes two libraries, several archives, a museum, educational courses, and a publication center. Holdings include books, journals, manuscripts, oral histories, photos, audio recordings, audiovisual films, and cultural artefacts.
- Tibetan and Himalayan LibraryAn international community using Web-based technologies to integrate diverse knowledge about Tibet and the Himalayas for free access from around the world.
- Tibetan Mongolian Buddhist Cultural CenterBased in Bloomington, Indiana, USA, the center helps preserve Tibetan and Mongolian Buddhist cultures, provides Buddhist teachings, and promotes interfaith harmony.
- Tibetan Studies WWW Virtual LibraryThis website keeps track of leading electronic resources in the field of Tibetan studies. It is part of the Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library and of its specialist subsection, the East Asia WWW Virtual Library.
Tibet-GIS Sources
China Historical Geographic Information System http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~chgis/
The China Historical Geographic Information System, CHGIS, project was launched in January 2001 to establish a database of populated places and historical administrative units for the period of Chinese history between 222 BCE and 1911 CE. CHGIS provides a base GIS platform for researchers to use in spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps.
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World [electronic resource] / Saul B. Cohen, editor. [New York] : Columbia University Press, c2001- This resource lists all county seats (mostly using Chinese names) as well as population and local products. http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?ATS5257
http://www.plateauperspectives.org/province.htm political maps of Qinghai down to the xian/county (Chinese only)
THDL Gazetteer http://www.thdl.org/collections/cultgeo/gazetteer/ Only Central Tibet.
Tibet Map Institute http://www.tibetmap.com/brtext.html "Tibet Administrative Maps"
Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (place search) http://www.tbrc.org/index.xq
Tibet Outside the TAR. CD-Rom, available for purchase from the International Campaign for Tibet. Features scans with clear borders of Chinese maps of Tibetan prefectures. List of Tibetan administrative seats outside the TAR giving Tibetan and Chinese spellings (and characters). pp. 2433-2450.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile and Guides |



Loading...
