This is the "Primary Sources on Germany" page of the "German Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

German Studies  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.ucla.edu/german Print Guide RSS Updates

Primary Sources on Germany Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 

Dictionaries

  • Duden ? Das groe Fremdwrterbuch
    A whole series of large Duden dictionaries, including Duden - Wörterbuch der Abkürzungen (Dictionary of abbreviations), Duden - Das Fremdwörterbuch (Foreign word dictionary), Duden - Das gro�e Fremdwörterbuch (Larger foreign word dictionary), Duden - Das Herkunftswörterbuch (Etymological dictionary), Duden - Das Synonymwörterbuch (Dictionary of synonyms), Duden - Deutsches Universalwörterbuch (Universal German dictionary), Duden - Die deutsche Rechtsschreibung (German spelling), Duden - Familiennamen (Surnames), Duden - Geographische Namen (Geographical names), Duden - Lexikon der Vornamen (Lexicon of first names), Duden - Richtiges und gutes Deutsch (Correct German and good usage), Duden - Wörterbuch der New Economy (Dictionary of the new economy), Duden - Wörterbuch der Szenesprachen (Contemporary Slang dictionary)
  • The Pocket Oxford-Duden German Dictionary: English-German
  • The Pocket Oxford-Duden German Dictionary: German-English

Primary Sources on CD-ROM

  • Bertolt Brechts Werke
    Jubiläumsausgabe auf CD-ROM : ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden. PT2603.R397 1999
  • Goethes Werke
    auf CD-ROM. Weimarer Ausgabe. PT1891 .C95 1995
  • Kafkas Werke
    kritische Kafka-Ausgabe des S. Fischer Verlages bei Chadwyck-Healey. PT2621.A26 1999
  • Kant's gesammelte Schriften
    B2753 1988
  • The library holds cd-rom editions of the selected works of a number of other German authors (e.g. Theodor Fontane, Heinrich Heine, E.T.A. Hoffmann, G. E. Lessing, Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels, Kurt Tucholsky, etc.) as well.

Primary Sources on Microform

Primary Sources Online

  • Digitale Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker  
      
    Full text database of German texts. Includes works of major German literary works as well as historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of. essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. It contains all the Deutscher Klassiker Verlag editions except Schiller, Goethe and Wieland. (Complete list of works included)
  • Schillers Werke im WWW. Nationalausgabe
    Electronic version of the definitive Nationalausgabe of Schiller’s works. Click on the link "About Schillers Werke" for completeness information.
  • Monumenta Germaniae Historica
    A selection of texts from all five divisions of Monumenta Germaniae Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates).
  • Europeana
    A digitized multimedia library of the European cultural heritage: digitized books, manuscripts, photos, paintings, maps, audio and film material, newspapers, etc.
  • Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB)
    Unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage: millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, pieces of music and other sound documents, as well as films and scores, from all over Germany.
  • Deutsches Nachrichtenburo
    It will take a few minutes to download!
    Digitized version of the Nazi German News Agency's publication.
  • Die Tagebcher von Joseph Goebbels Online
    De Gruyters' digitized version of Goebbels' diaries.

Primary Sources at UCLA Special Collections

UCLA holds a rich collections of German materials. This list includes a few examples. Search the Online Archive of California for more information

  • Franz Werfel Papers 1910-1944
    Materials found in Werfel's study at the time of his death. Includes correspondence, manuscripts, clippings and printed materials, pictures, artifacts, periodicals, and books.
  • Arthur Schnitzler Papers 1875-1931
    Microfilm copies of the Arthur Schnitzler Archives from Cambridge. The microfilm includes manuscripts, correspondence, scripts, sketches, a dissertation on Schnitzler, and autobiographical material and documents related to Arthur Schnitzler's father, Johann Schnitzler.
  • Rudolf Carnap Papers, 1920-1968
    Correspondence, audio tapes of lectures, notebooks, literary manuscripts (some unpublished), corrected galleys, books, and periodicals.
  • Leibniz, Gottfried Wilhelm, Freiherr von (1646-1716): Papers, 1646-1716.
    35 reels of positive microfilm of more than 100,000 handwritten pages of manuscripts and letters. The originals are at the Lower Saxony State Library, Hanover, Germany.
  • National Socialism in Germany and the United States, 1933-1965
    The German part of the collection includes pamphlets, newspapers, books, magazines, pictures, photographs, filmstrips, slides, ephemera, and objects relating to the Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiter-Partei in Germany.
  • Lothar Meggendorfer Papers, ca. 1888-1943
    The collection consists of manuscripts and proofs of illustrations, covers, texts, and two books created by Meggendorfer.
  • Children's Book Collection
    The strength of the collection resides in English and American publications before 1840, supported by foreign language editions, pop-up and other movable books, and harlequinades—among them more than 100 seventeenth to nineteenth century books in German.
  • Charles Stuart de Rothesay Collection of Maps.
    Ca. 530 maps of Austria, Denmark, Norway, and Sweden, 1715-1840.
 

German Studies

Librarian for the West European Collections:
Katalin Radics

Contact Information
kradics at library.ucla.edu

***********************

Department of Germanic Languages

Finding Books and Journals in Catalogs