Primary Sources at Special Collections of UCLA
Selected list of rare and archival materials held in the Special Collections of the UCLA Library:
Marteau Collection. 17th and 18th century fictitious imprints
Children's Book Collection - The strength of the collection resides in English and American publications before 1840, supported by foreign language editions, pop-up and other movable books, and harlequinades - among them more than 500 17th-19th century books in French.
Roger Mennevée archive
Charles Boyer French Research Foundation collection, 1939-1950
A Collection of material about tThe strength of the collection resides chiefly in English and American publications before 1840, supported by foreign language editions, pop-up and other movable books, and harlequinades.he student movement in Paris, 1968
Primary Sources on CD-ROM
The non-circulating CD-ROM databases are available for searching in the Microform and Media Service, (21653, YRL). Circulating CD-ROMs are either in the stacks or in the SRLF.
L’atelier historique de la langue française : l’histoire des mots du haut Moyen âge au XIXe siècle.
Ancien et moyen français : Dictionnaire historique de La Curne de Sainte-Palaye--XVIIe siècle : Dictionnaire de Furetière--XVIIIe siècle : Dictionnaire de l’Académie française (1762)--XIXe siècle : Dictionnaire d’Emile Littré--Curiosités françaises de Oudin--Dictionnaire philosophique de Voltaire et compléments--Dictionnaire universel des synonymes de Guizot. PC2625 .A84 1999
Corpus de la littérature médiévale en langue d’oil des origines à la fin du XVe siècle : prose narrative, poésie, théatre PQ1301 .C67 2001
Corpus Montaigne PQ1642.E5 B8 1997
Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue française. [Diskette 1-2] B1802 .C67 1995
Les dictionnaires de l’Académie française.
Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Paris, 1687 -- Grand dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Francfort, 1687 -- Grand dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Francfort, 1687 -- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise dedié au Roy, Paris, 1694-- Nouveau dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise dedié au Roy, Paris, 1718 -- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Paris, 1740 -- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Paris, 1762 -- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Paris, 1798. PC2625 .D57 2000
Dictionnaires des XVIe et XVIIe siècles AG25 .D53 1999
L’Encyclopédie de Diderot et d’Alembert AE25 .E533 2000
Larousse, Pierre: Grand dictionnaire universel du XIXe siècle AE25 .L32 2000
La librarie des ducs de Bourgogne. Z6621.B535 B53 2001
Théâtre du Grand Siècle The works of Corneille, Racine, and Molière. PQ1220 .T44 1996
Primary Sources Online
ARTFL
A full text online database of thousands of French texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Searching in ARTFL
Littérature française et francophone
Click on Accès aux bases de données on the opening page. The following databases are licensed for UCLA users:
Grand Corpus des littératures française et francophone, du Moyen Âge au 20e siècle
Corpus de la littérature médiévale des origines au 15e siècle
Corpus de la littérature narrative du Moyen Âge au 20e siècle
Corpus de la première littérature francophone d'Afrique noire, écrite et orale, des origines aux Indépendances (fin 18e siècle-1960)
Corpus de la première littérature francophone de l'Océan Indien, écrite et orale, des origines aux Indépendances (18e siècle-1960)
Corpus de la littérature narrative
A full text database of French literature. It offers a digital library of about 1000 narrative works (novels, tales, short stories), mostly pre-World War I (with the exception of Proust) and focusing on the works of Balzac, Dumas and De Maupassant.
Poesie francaise
Searchable database. A selection of French poetry from the Middle Ages to the early 20th century.
EuroDocs, France
Connects to French historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. From the antiquity to the present.
Primary Sources on Microform
Some works can only be found on microfilm or in special collections and archives. The following list is a brief selection of the large microfilm set titles UCLA owns in the library or as a member of a consortium - in the Center for Research Libraries. Each set includes a large number of works.
French Books before 1601. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF
French Books 1601-1700. SRLF Z2162 F74 and CRL
French Drama: a Comprehensive Collection of French Plays of the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. CRL
Archives biographiques françaises CT1003 .A73 2001
French political pamphlets, 1547-1648 SRLF
Sorciers, demonologues, magistrats, theologiens et medicins aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles (Guide) BF1501 .S67 1975
The World of Port-Royal. Jansenism in the Catholic Church, 17th-18th centuries (Guide) BX4730 .W67
Utopies au siècle des lumières (Guide) HX806 U865
The French Revolution Research Collection – Les Archives de la Revolution – ed. by Colin Lucas DC141 .F86 1989
French revolutionary pamphlets on microfiche DC141 .F7
Nicolas de Bonneville et le Cercle social, 1787-1800 (Guide) DC158.8 .N53
D’Holbach et ses amis, 1760-1789 (Guide) BL2710 .D46
Le Rousseauisme (Guide) JC179.R9 R685
Corvey-Institut Anti-Napoleon. Schriften--Fürstliche Bibliothek. (Guide) DC226.2 C67
Freemasonry and antimasonry HS403 .F74
Collection de documents inédits sur l’histoire économique de la révolution française. CRL
Collection de documents relatif à l’histoire de Paris pendant la révolution française. CRL
Les enquêtes des préfets de l’Empire. CRL
Collection on the Revolution of 1848 in France. Newspapers. CRL
Newspapers of the French Revolution of 1848 from the British Library, London, and the British Library Newspaper Library, Colindale, London.
The series captures the British Library's holdings of all newspaper and periodical titles published in France during the revolution of 1848. Coverage continued through the coup d'état in 1851 to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852. CRL
The Dreyfus Affair in the Making of Modern France DC354 .D882
European Women’s Periodicals (Guide) PN5110 .E97
Confidential US. State Department central files. France: foreign affairs 1945-1949 DC398 .C62 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. France: foreign affairs 1950-1954 DC398 C63 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. France: internal affairs 1945-1949 DC398 .C64 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. France: internal affairs 1950-1954 DC398 .C66 1987
Les Tracts de mai 1968. Bibliotheque nationale de Paris, Service de l’histoire de France. DC414 T473
Microfilm guides
French Studies

Image credit: UCLA Library
*************************
Librarian for the West European Collections:
Katalin Radics
Contact Information
E-mail, Phone, Address
Finding books and journals in catalogs
Accessing licensed library resources from home or elsewhere: how to configure your computer with the Proxy Server?
UCLA Library Catalog
Catalog of the holdings of the different UCLA libraries
Melvyl Catalog
Catalog of all library holdings of ten University of California libraries
New Generation Melvyl
Search results are presented in this order:
- Resources owned by UCLA Library;
- Resources available through our sharing relationships with other libraries, if your library belongs to a group;
- Resources owned by all other WorldCat libraries globally.
WorldCat
A catalog of books and other library materials held in libraries worldwide.
UCLA Film and Television Archive
Online bibliographic ccess to the holdings of the UCLA Film and Television Archive. The institution provides scholarly and educational access to the Archive's collections in a state-of-the-art viewing facility with 90 viewing stations.
Online Archive of California
The OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Google Scholar
Broad Internet search for scholarly literature: digitized books, periodicals, etc.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait