Multimedia
- African Languages & CulturesComprehensive portal developed by Dr. Janet Kaaya
- Hausa Home Page (by UCLA Professor Russell Schuh)Developed and maintained by Russell G. Schuh, this multimedia page contains material for all aspects of Hausa language learning and teaching.
- Africa Past & Present: The Podcast about African History, Culture and PoliticsInterviews featuring scholars and their work on aspects of history, culture and politics of Africa, and Africans; hosted at Michigan State University by historians Peter Limb and Peter Alegi. Highly recommended for students and faculty alike.
Manuscripts and Visual Material
- Slavery and Manumission Manuscripts of Timbuktu"206 manuscripts selected by Abdel Kader Haidara, Curator of the Bibliotheque Commemorative Mama Haidara and John O. Hunwick, Professor of History and Religion, Northwestern University, from the Bibliothèque Commémorative Mama Haidara in Timbuktu, Mali, a collection of 19th century manuscripts relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu. The materials, in Arabic, provide documentation on Africans in slavery in Muslim societies. Description and content notes are provided in English."--from product description
- The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960“The 7,000-plus photographs in this extraordinary collection document the changing relationships among Africans and between Africans and Europeans during 100 years of dramatic historic change,” says Herskovits Library curator David Easterbrook. Northwestern University
- Ross Archive of African ImagesJames J. Ross Archive of African Images 1590 - 1920. A database of published images of African art.
- Africa through a lens | The National Archives"A set of thousands of images taken from a broader photographic collection of British Foreign Office and Commonwealth Office images, held at The National Archives [of Great Britain]. Starting with some incredible early photographs from the 1860s, the images span over 100 years of African history. These images are now available, for the first time, to view online."--The National Archives website.
Print Bibliographies and Guides to Primary Sources
Arabic Medieval Inscriptions from the Republic of Mali: epigraphy, chronicles and Songhay-Tuareg history. Edited by P.F. de Moraes Farias. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, for the British Academy, 2003.
Cuoq, Joseph M. Recueil des sources arabes concernant l'Afrique occidentale du VIIIe au XVIe siécle (Bil¯ad Al-S¯ud¯an). Traduction et notes par Joseph M. Cuoq; préface de Raymond Mauny. Paris: Editions du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, 1985. (See also earlier edition, 1975)
Ibn Battuta in Black Africa. Arabic text by Abu Abdalla ibn Battuta [Ibn Batuta, 1304-1377]; translated and edited with commentary by Said Hamdun and Noel King; with a new introduction by Ross Dunn. Princeton, NJ: Markus Wiener, 1994.
Inventaire de la Bibliothèque 'umarienne de Ségou, conservée à la Bibliothèque Nationale, Paris. Par Noureddine Ghali, Sidi Mohamed Mahibou, avec la participation de Louis Brenner. Paris: Editions du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, 1985. (Umar Tal archives)
Islam in East Africa, new sources: archives, manuscripts and written historical sources, oral history, archaeology; International colloquium, Rome, 2-4 December 1999. Edited by Biancamaria Scarcia Amoretti. Rome: Herder, 2001.
Land in D¯ar F¯ur: charters and related documents from the D¯ar F¯ur sultanate. Translated with an introduction by R.S. O'Fahey ... [et al.]. Cambridge, England; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1983.
Levtzion, N. and J.F.P. Hopkins. Corpus of Early Arabic Sources for West African History. Translated by J.F.P. Hopkins. Princeton, NJ: Markus Wiener, 2000. (See also earlier edition, 1981).
Levtzion, Nehemia and Jay Spaulding. Medieval West Africa: views from Arab scholars and merchants. Princeton, NJ: Markus Wiener, 2003.
The Mombasa rising against the Portuguese, 1631: from sworn evidence. Edited and translated by G.S.P. Freeman-Grenville. London: Oxford University Press, for the British Academy, 1980.
Muhammad al-Quadiri's Nashr al Mathani: the Chronicles. Edited and translated by Norman Cigar. London; New York: Oxford University Press, for the British Academy, 1981.
Shar¯i`a in Songhay: the replies of al-Magh¯il¯i to the questions of Askia al-H¯ajj Muhammad. Edited and translated with an introduction and commentary by John O. Hunwick. London; New York: Oxford University Press, for the British Academy, 1985.
Spaulding, Jay and Muhammad Ibr¯ah¯im Ab¯u Sal¯im. Public Documents from Sinn¯ar. East Lansing, MI: Michigan State University Press, 1989. African historical sources, 1; Fontes Historiae Africanae, Series Arabica, 11.
Tombouctou au milieu du XVIIIe siècle: d'après la Chronique de Mawl¯ay al-Q¯asim B. Mawl¯ay Sulaym¯an. Texte arabe édité, traduit et annoté par Michel Abitbol.
Wilks, Ivor, Nehemia Levtzion, and Bruce M. Haight. Chronicles from Gonja: a tradition of West African Muslim historiography. Arabic texts edited and translated by Nehemia Levtzion. Cambridge, England; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1986. Fontes Historiae Africanae. Series Arabica, 9.
Subject Librarian
