Subject Librarian
Online Map Collections
- National Archive of the Netherlands Map CollectionUse Dutch-language place names to search this database!
- Old Maps OnlineOver 400,000 historical maps from dozens of archives and libraries around the world.
Digital Southeast Asia Map Collections
- Asia Maps - Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionOnline map collection covering Asia, its countries, and its cities, from the University of Texas, Austin.
- Cambodge : Cartes & DocumentsSeveral different types of maps of Cambodia, Phnom Penh, and Angkor Wat. Includes some 19th-century maps, as well as some non-map materials about Cambodia.
- Dutch Colonial MapsSearchable database of digitized historical maps of former Dutch colonies, including Indonesia. Originally from Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen (Royal Tropical Institute); now hosted by Leiden University.
- Geo-Spatial Digital Archive for The Southeast Asia / CRMA Thailand, CSEAS Kyoto University, SOAS University of London, and UNINET ThailandIncludes the Williams-Hunt Collection (World War II-era aerial photographs of important archaeological sites), a World War II map collection, and satellite images. Includes more than 2500 aerial photos of Malaysia, more than 1500 aerial photos of Thailand, and more than 800 aerial photos of Myanmar. Click on the "Publication" heading to read about the significance of the Williams-Hunt Collection.
- Historical Maps of Southeast AsiaDigitized by the University of Alabama
- History of Cambodia : Every Year (c. 1500 BCE – 2020 CE)This animated time map was researched and constructed by a college student! Be sure to read the comments below the video for feedback on its accuracy, and check out his other historical time maps on Champa, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam.
- Images of Early Maps on the Web : Southeast AsiaA list of links, which take you to collections of maps of Southeast Asia.
- Kaarten van de VOC598 maps, plans, views of the Dutch East Indies. From the Netherlands National Archives.
- Plans et cartes - L'Indochine coloniale19th and 20th century maps and plans
Cartographic Collections Overview
For more in-depth information on maps, atlases, GIS, and other cartographic materials, go to the Cartographic Resources subject guide.
The Henry J. Bruman Map Collection, administered by the Charles E. Young Research Library Collections, Research, and Instructional Services department (CRIS), consists of maps and atlases, aerial photographs, gazetteers, place name literature, and specialized books and journals about cartography and geographic information systems.
The map and atlas collections are primarily post-1945 in origin, but we also collect facsimile editions of older maps in an effort to trace the origins of cartography. Although we collect maps depicting geographic coverage from all over the globe, our collection is especially rich in materials relating to Los Angeles city and county, southern California, and the remainder of California.
The Research Library collects map series as well as single sheet maps.
We provide access to Geographic Information System (GIS) resources which allows UC students, faculty, and staff to use ARCGIS to produce customized maps according to their specific needs and specifications.
The Research Library map collections are housed in two locations: the Research Library A-level stacks and the Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF). The majority of maps located in SRLF are map series. These series represent geographic coverage of the entire globe and cover contemporary as well as historical time periods. They include all United States Geological Survey topographic maps at scales of 1:62,500 and 1:24,000 except for California; WWII-era Army Map Service maps; and series produced by national mapping agencies from numerous countries throughout the world. Graphic indexes for most of these series have been retained in the Research Library. These maps have been designated as non-circulating and must be paged back to the Research Library to be used. Maps housed in the SRLF are listed in the UCLA Library Catalog and must be used in the Research Library A-level Reading Room. Paged materials will be available for use by 5:00 pm on the next working day
The UCLA Science and Engineering Library Geology Collection (SEL/Geology) also has a map collection to support the faculty and students in Earth, Planetary, and Space Sciences.