California Resource
- Official California Legislative InformationInformation on bills and history in the State of California.
Federal Legislative Information Resources
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides voting/political records for federal officials (past or present). Index to US Congressional publications including committee hearings (published and unpublished), committee prints, Senate executive documents and reports, and items in the U.S. Serial Set. You must know the name of the public law (PL) or house resolution (HR) number, and the Congressional session it went through. You can search by keyword, though you often still have to know the above information to find what you are looking for. If the candidate is a governor, he/she may not have a voting record.
- Congress.govA congressional database which contains the Congressional Record, congressional bills, and data about Congress and its members.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
- Congressional Research Service ReportsThis collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. The products in this collection were created for the sole purpose of supporting Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. New products are regularly produced to anticipate and respond to issues of interest to Congress on a timely basis.
State Legislative Information Resources
State Libraries and Archive are the official depository for state government documents.
- Young Research Library's (YRL) Government Information subject guide's Fifty States page provides links to organizations such as the Governor's Association.
- State Archives at USA.gov
For information on state governors, search the candidate's current state homepage for archived materials. Search "[candidate's name] AND health" or search by a specific policy name/title. Find a link to each state's webpage on USA.gov.