Major Online Resources
- Natural Standard : the Authority on Integrative Medicine
Provide high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. - CAM on PubMed A subset of NLM's PubMed, which provides access to citations on complementary and alternative medicine from the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many full-text
- International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements.
- TCM Online Provide databases and various information on traditional Chinese medicine by the Institute of Information on Traditional Chinese Medicine, China Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences
- UCLA Center for East-West Medicine The Center was established in 1993 with a vision to provide healthcare that is safe, effective, affordable, and accessible through the integration of the best of Chinese medicine with Western medicine.
- UCLA Collaborative Centers for Integrative Medicine (CCIM) As a campus-wide program committed to the study and application of integrative medicine, CCIM sponsors education, facilitates research and promotes appropriate practice of complementary, alternative, and mind-body medicine.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine Established in 1998 as part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), NCCAM's charge is to stimulate, develop, and support research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) for the benefit...
- White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy Established in March 2000 to address issues related to access and delivery of CAM, priorities for research, and the need for better education of consumers and health care professionals about CAM.
E-books
- Integrative Medicine
Rakel, 2nd ed. Definitive clinical reference for the rapidly growing field of integrative medicine - Anticancer Agents from Natural Products Boca Raton, Fla. : Taylor & Francis, 2005
Electronic Text
- Expanding Horizons of Health Care: Strategic Plan 2005-2009, NCCAM A five-year plan about the mission, vision, and priority setting, goals, investing in research, training CAM investigators, expanding outreach, and advancing the organization by National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.
- Expanding Horizons of Healthcare : Five-Year Strategic Plan, 2001-2005, NCCAM A five-year strategic plan for 2001-2005 by National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.
- Spices [electronic resource] : Exotic Flavors & Medicines by History and Special Collections, Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library, UCLA ; curator, Irwin Ziment.
- HerbMed provides neutral access to the data underlying the medicinal use of herbs and comprehensive access to the available scientific publications and data on each herb.
- Information on Traditional Chinese Medicine by TCM Online Provide various information on traditional Chinese medicine, including history, theories, acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, integrative medicine, case reports, health preservation & prevention, education, research, regulations, etc.
- What Is an Herb? An online exhibit that highlights four herbals that are milestones in the history of Western herbal medicine: ""The Vienna Dioscorides"" (De Materia Medica, 512 A.D.); The Badianus...
Other Resources
- Alternative Medicine and Rehabilitation a Guide for Practitioners A guide to practitioners who are interested in adding one or more of the methods being discussed to their therapeutic armamentarium. Focus is on manipulation, movement therapies, mindbody therapies,...
- Alternative Medicine Homepage A good starting point for sources of information on unconventional, unorthodox, unproven, or alternative, complementary, innovative, integrative therapies.
- Beijing Digital Museum of Traditional Chinese Medicine A virtual museum to display the history, culture, relics, practice, research and education sponsored by Beijing Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine and the Beijing Science &Technology Society.
- Complementary and Alternative Medicine at the NIH (Online) Archive of publications on CAM research at the NIH by the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine since 2003
- Complementary and Alternative Medicine in the United States Electronic Texts
- Dietary Supplement by FDA
- Herbal Information by National Agriculture Library
- ICAM Resource Center [Web site] Provides resources on complimentary and alternative medicine developed as part of the Educational Development for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (EDCAM) Project.
- MedlinePlus: Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Subject Guide |
Daming SuContact Info:
Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library
12-077 Center for Health Sciences, Box 951798
Los Angeles, CA 90095
310.825.4904 ext. 3
Send Email
Subjects:
East-West Medicine
Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library
12-077 Center for Health Sciences, Box 951798
Los Angeles, CA 90095
310.825.4904 ext. 3
Send Email
Subjects:
East-West Medicine
General Reference
Research assistance in the health and life sciences is available at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library.
See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait