Evidence Based Information
- Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is an electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.
- National Guideline Clearing House A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- Dynamed Evidence-based reference tool containing summaries for nearly 2000 topics of diseases, disorders, and symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources.
- ACP PIER Evidence-based clinical guidance presented electronically in a unique layered and telegraphic format. It is designed for rapid access to clinical information at the point of care
- Natural Standard : the Authority on Integrative Medicine Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities.
Herbal Medicine
- Natural Standard : the Authority on Integrative Medicine
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities. - IBIDS (International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements)
Provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements.Basic Information on Chinese Meteria Medica
(Zhong Yao Ji Chu Xin Xi Shu Ju Ku 中药基础信息数据库)
Information on herbs and their proccessed products, chemical components, pharmacological effects, etc. provided by the Institute of Information on Traditional Chinese Medicine, CACMS, in Chinese. - Pharmacological Studies on Chinese Herbal Medicine (Zhong Yao Shi Yan Shu Ju Cang Ku 中药实验数据仓库)
Information on pharmacological studies on herbs, herbal medicines and their chemical components, etc. provided by the Institute of Information on Traditional Chinese Medicine, CACMS, in Chinese. - Chemical Studies on Chinese Herbal Medicines
(Zhong Yao Hua Xue Shi Yan Shu Ju Ku 中药化学实验数据库)
Information on chemical studies on herbs and herbal medicines provided by the Institute of Information on Traditional Chinese Medicine, CACMS, in Chinese
Clinical Information
- Clinical Information System
(Zhong Yi Lin Chuan Shu Ju Ku 中医临床数据库)
Information on various diseases and conditions treated with traditional Chinese medical therapies provided by the Institute of Information on Traditional Chinese Medicine, CACMS in Chinese. - National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. - ClinicalTrials.gov
Provides patients, family members and members of the public with current information about clinical research studies. - ACP PIER
Evidence-based clinical guidance presented electronically in a unique layered and telegraphic format. It is designed for rapid access to clinical information at the point of care. - Dynamed
Evidence-based reference tool containing summaries for nearly 2000 topics of diseases, disorders, and symptoms, with information on etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, and links to patient information. Summaries are derived from peer-reviewed sources. - UpToDate
Offers instant access to the most current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment, written by expert faculty from the world's leading medical schools and academic medical centers. - Faculty of 1000 Medicine
Based on the recommendations of a selected faculty of nearly 2500 leading international researchers and clinicians, this database systematically highlights and reviews the most pertinent papers in any field of medicine.
Journal Article Databases
- CAM on PubMed A subset of NLM's PubMed, which provides access to citations on complementary and alternative medicine from the MEDLINE database and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many full-text
- IBIDS (International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements) provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements.
- AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators includes citations herbs and medicinal plants and includes references from The Herb Research Foundations' HerbalGram
- BIOSIS previews Contains citations to items in over 6,000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology. Many citations include abstracts.
- CINAHL plus with full text Indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health back to 1937. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Global health on CAB direct A public health database emphasizing international health issues. Consists of the Global health current file (1973 to present) and the Global health archive (1908 to 1973), which also includes records from the British Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseas
- Web of Science A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences; social sciences; and arts & humanities. Indexes major journals across disciplines with all cited references captured.
- China Academic Journals (Chinese) 中国知网 Full text and full images of 1,710 Chinese-language journals in economics, education, history, law, literature, philosophy, politics,and social science since 1994, including some related to Chinese medicine. Please use Internet Explorer when accessing it.
- China Online Journals from Wanfang Data (Chinese) 万方数据 More than 6,000 full-text online journals in various disciplinaries published in China since 1997. Please use Internet Explorer when accessing this resource.
- HKInChiP (Chinese) 香港中文期刊論文索引 Index for articles in more than 150 periodicals published in Hong Kong since 1990, with some titles as early as the 1950s, in current events, economics, politics, the social sciences, and Chinese medicine.
- TEPS (Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services) (Chinese) 臺灣電子期刊服務網 The database has access to over 450 Taiwanese periodicals in multiple disciplines.
- ACUBASE (French) A French-based database including 20000 references in acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine.
Using Databases
Review these PDF guides for databases to make searching more efficient:
If there is no guide for your preferred database, try using Compare Database Features or Dissect a Database.
You can always contact the Biomedical Library to get help in searching databases.
Database Tutorials
Review video, audio, and slideshow tutorials to learn to search databases.
BIOSIS Previews
Basic Searching Guide (ISI/Thomson Reuters)
Advanced Searching Guide (UC Berkeley Science Library)
CINAHL plus with full text
CINAHL Plus Basic Search Tutorial (EBSCO)
PubMed
Simple Subject Search (NLM)
Page listing all PubMed, MeSH, and MyNCBI video tutorials (NLM)
Global health on CAB direct
Global Health Basic Search Tutorial (ISI/Thomson Reuters)
Web of Science
Basic Searching Guide (ISI/Thomson Reuters)
Cited Reference Searching Tutorial (ISI/Thomson Reuters)
Subject Guide |
Daming SuLouise M. Darling Biomedical Library
12-077 Center for Health Sciences, Box 951798
Los Angeles, CA 90095
310.825.4904 ext. 3
Send Email
Subjects:
East-West Medicine
General Reference
Research assistance in the health and life sciences is available at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library.
See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait