Last Updated: Oct 31, 2014
UCLA's classical holdings center on Grecian civilizations from the Minoan-Mycenaean period to the fall of Constantinople in 1453; on Italian civilizations from the so-called regal period to the death of Romulus Augustulus in 476; and on the history of classical scholarship. These materials, chiefly consisting of books and manuscripts, support the research and instructional needs of the Department of Classics and, to a degree, the Departments of Art History, History, and Philosophy, and the Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies.
The materials themselves are mainly preserved in the Arts Library (art, architecture, archaeology); the History and Special Collections Division of the Biomedical Library (medicine and science); the William Andrews Clark Memorial Library (British imprints from the 17th and 18th centuries); the College Library (a.k.a. Powell; undergraduate materials); the Law Library; the Southern Regional Library Facility (older and less used materials); and especially in the Charles E. Young Research Library (Main Stacks; Reference; A-Level Maps and Microforms; Special Collections).
- UCLA Library Catalog
Contains the holdings for all UCLA libraries.
Program that searches UCLA, UC and WorldCat holdings from one place.
Union catalog for most U.S. academic and public libraries and many international ones.
This guide is intended to give UCLA students, staff, and faculty interested in Classical and Byzantine Studies an easy-to-use jumping off point. Most of its content was compiled by Paul Naiditch, Librarian Emeritus for Classics. Updates have been added by Katalin Radics, Librarian for the West European Collections and Classics.
UCLA Department of Special Collections Special Collections has several collections particularly useful for those interested in classical antiquity. In recent years, the Department has had two exhibitions concerned with classical antiquity: "The Development of Classical Scholarship" and "Philodemus and Greek Papyri."
- Ahmanson-Murphy Aldine Collection
The Department's Aldine Collection is the largest in North America and rivals in size the largest collections in Europe. The press itself began publishing in 1495 and ceased in 1597. Aldus Manutius (ca 1452-1515) and his heirs published the first editions of Aeschylus, Aristotle, Demosthenes, most of Euripides, Herodotus, Pindar, Plato, Sophocles, Thucydides, Xenophon et al. See "The Aldine Press
" (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2001).
- Ahmanson-Murphy Collection of Early Italian Printing to 1600
The collection includes approximately 5,000 volumes, many of which are by classical authors or treat classical antiquity. There are notable groups of books printed by Blado, Giolito de Ferrari, the Giuntas, Jenson, and Ratdolt.
- Truesdell S. Brown Papers
(collection 390, 24 boxes). Brown (1906-1992) was Professor of History at UCLA (1947-1973). He specialized in the Hellenistic historians. His collection consists primarily of offprints.
- A Collection of Dissertations on Greek and Roman Antiquity, 1813-1939
(coll. 357t). Approximately 1500, mostly German, dissertations (1813-1939) concerned with classical antiquity. The finding aid includes both author and text, subject and name indexes.
- Paul Friedländer Papers
(coll. 1551, 46 boxes). Paul Friedländer (1882-1968) was perhaps the most eminent classical scholar to teach at UCLA. Removed from his chair at Halle because he was Jewish, and imprisoned for six weeks at Sachsenhausen, Rudolf Bultmann arranged for his release and, in 1939, Friedlaender and his family emigrated. His papers include letters from Bultmann, E. R. Curtius, Albin Lesky, Paul Maas, Ulrich von Wilamowitz-Moellendorff as well as Thomas Mann. The correspondence with Wilamowitz has been published in the Department's Occasional Papers series.
- Louis Havet Collection
(coll. 606, six boxes). Louis Havet (1849-1925), whose classical library was acquired by the University of California, was a notable Latinist, working on Nonius, Plautus, Propertius and others.
- Sir Richard Claverhouse Jebb Collection
(coll. 100 bx 57: finding aid at Department). **Sir Richard Jebb (1841-1905), Regius Professor of Greek in the University of Cambridge. A collection of his papers was acquired by the University of California with the C. K. Ogden collection. Additional materials are preserved at U. C. Berkeley.
- Gonzalez Lodge Collection
(coll. 563, twenty boxes). The library of Gonzalez Lodge (1863-1942), who is best remembered for his "Lexicon Plautinianum", is divided between Columbia University, New York; Franklin & Marshall College; and UCLA. UCLA's portion consists of about 900 books and bound pamphlets and offprints, chiefly treating Latin grammar, Caesar, Cicero, Livy, Seneca, Tacitus, and Terence.
- Edward Noon O'Neil Collection
(coll. 628: in process). This collection includes the nearly complete typescript and manuscript 'Index verborum Plutarcheus' prepared by William B. Helmbold and E. N. O'Neil, but never published: unlike the Thesaurus linguae Graecae, the indexers take cognizance of the apparatus criticus. The Loeb Classical Library index to the Moralia was excerpted from another, larger, typescript. In addition, there is considerable unpublished matter on the late Roman poet Maximianus and course-notes concerned with Plutarch, the New Testament, et al.
- Mike Wasserman collection of Latin mottoes
Katalin Radics, Librarian for the West European Collections and Classics
kradics at library.ucla.edu
Department of Classics
Photo by Katalin Radics
In order to access library databases and other resources from off campus, please follow the instructions for setting up your BOL Proxy server or VPN provided by Bruin Online.