Primary Sources on CD-ROMs
Art theorists of the Italian Renaissance YRL Microfilm N6915 .A78 1998
Gli atti del comune di Milano nei secoli XII e XIII DG651 .A88 2000
Italienische Zeichnungen Vom 14. bis zum 18. Jahrhundert / Kupferstichkabinett Arts Library Permanent Reserves NC27.G4 S73 1995
Tutte le opere di Torquato Tasso YRL Microfilm PQ4636 .A1 1997
Leonardo da Vinci, the paintings Arts Library Permanent Reserves ND623.L5 L533 1995
Letteratura italiana Zanichelli YRL Microfilm PQ4201 .L48 1993
The Medici Arts Library Permanent Reserves DG737.42 .M43 1997
Opera Omnia/Francesco Petrarca PQ4475 A1 Microform & Media
The Renaissance of Florence Arts Library Permanent Reserves N6370 .R46 1997
Primary Sources Online
Editoria Italiana Online
Dartmouth Dante Project
Contains the full text of "La Commedia" and commentaries by more than 70 authors. Free resource.
Decameron Web
An online archive of materials dedicated to Boccaccio's masterpiece. Free resource.
Antologia frammentaria della Letteratura Italiana
A selection of full texts (poetry, prose, essays, etc.).
Biblioteca della Letteratura Italiana
A growing resource of Italian literary texts.
Primary Sources at Special Collections of UCLA
UCLA holds one of the richest collections of Italian materials in the US. This list is just a sample of the most important ones. Search the Online Archive of California for more information.
Collection of material about the Orsini family, 1200-1929
YRL Special Collections. The 524 boxes of the Orsini Family papers date from the 14th to the 20th century, with the bulk of the collection's holdings in the 17th through the 19th centuries. The collection contains documents concerning foreign states and attendance on the papal throne; inventories describing the property of the Orsinis; inventories of marriage settlements and dowries, inheritances, donations, and wills; and topographical and architectural plans of property owned and managed by the family.
Ahmanson-Murphy Aldine Collection
YRL Special Collections. Checklist of the collection. The foremost Aldine collection in North America. The UCLA collection contains more than 750 items listed in A.-A. Renouard's Annales de l"imprimerie des Alde (Paris: Jules Renouard, 1834).
Ahmanson-Murphy Collection of Early Italian Printing
YRL Special Collections. More than three hundred printers are represented, with more comprehensive holdings of Antonio Blado of Rome, Gabriele Giolito de Ferrari of Venice, and Giunti family of Florence and Venice. The collection preserves nearly three hundred 15th-century Italian books, exclusive of the Aldines.
The Elmer Belt Library of Vinciana
A special collection of books and materials concerning Leonardo da Vinci and the Italian Renaissance. The Library was given to UCLA in 1961 by Dr. Elmer Belt, a Professor Emeritus in the UCLA School of Medicine and a collector of Vinciana for over sixty years.
Raccolta di Drammi (Venetian opera libretto collection)
1286 published librettos, bound in chronological order, comprehensively representing Venetian opera productions between 1637 and 1769. Music Library, Special Collections. The library has additional extensive holdings of 18th and 19th century Italian opera librettos.
Consilia Statuti Collection. A collection of juridical works from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries, containing material for the legal history of the later Middle Ages and the early modern period, especially in Italy. -Search for title "Consilia Statuti" on the catalog for individual titles.
Finding Books and Journals in Catalogs
Accessing licensed library resources from home or elsewhere: how to configure your computer with the Proxy Server?
UCLA Library Catalog
Catalog of the holdings of the different UCLA libraries
Melvyl Catalog
Catalog of all library holdings of ten University of California libraries
New Generation Melvyl
Search results are presented in this order:
- Resources owned by UCLA Library;
- Resources available through our sharing relationships with other libraries, if your library belongs to a group;
- Resources owned by all other WorldCat libraries globally.
WorldCat
A catalog of books and other library materials held in libraries worldwide.
UCLA Film and Television Archive
Online bibliographic ccess to the holdings of the UCLA Film and Television Archive. The institution provides scholarly and educational access to the Archive's collections in a state-of-the-art viewing facility with 90 viewing stations.
Online Archive of California
The OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Google Scholar
Broad Internet search for scholarly literature: digitized books, periodicals, etc.
Italian Studies

Librarian for the West European Collections:
Katalin Radics
Contact Information
E-mail, Phone, Address
Primary Sources on Major Microfilm Sets
Incunabula: the printing revolution in Europe, 1455-1500. Printing in Italy before 1472 (Units 7-10) SRLF Z240 .I3595 1991
Italian Books before 1601. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF
Italian books, 1601-1700. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF and CRL
Archives of the Feltrinelli Institute of Milan. Series I, Political movements and parties in Italy from 1900 to the fall of Fascism. HX286 .A73 1977
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: foreign affairs 1940-1944 DG568.5.C66 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: internal affairs 1940-1944 DG568.5.C662 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: foreign affairs 1945-1949 DG572 .C596 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: foreign affairs 1950-1954 DG577.5 C662 1988
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: internal affairs 1940-1944 DG568.5.C662 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: internal affairs 1945-1949 DG572 .C598 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: internal affairs 1950-1954 DG577.5.C6624 1988
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait