Subject Librarian
Ruby A. Bell-Gam
Contact:
Charles E. Young Research Library, A-1540
Subjects: Africa, Global & International Studies
Academic Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present. - Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- Left Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Topics covered include the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
More Databases
- ELDISHighly recommended open-access database hosted by the Institute of Development Studies at the University of Sussex, UK. Includes glossaries of development terminology and vocabulary [ keyword search: Development Glossary ]
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Geographical encyclopedia of names, descriptions, and characteristics of places in the world. Entries include: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.
- Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health is the only specialist bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases. on the Advanced search screen, select Global Health from the Search in box.
Articles: Case Studies and Development Programs
- Evaluating Educational Reform: Four Cases in Developing CountriesStudies of educational reform in El Salvador, Colombia, Pakistan, and the Philippines.
- Education Reforms in Countries in Transition: Policies and ProcessesSix-country case study commissioned by the Asian Development Bank in Azerbaijan, Kazakstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.
- How to Succeed in Education ReformThe Case for Saudi Arabia and the Greater GCC.
- Education Policy ReformsHistory of Development Reform Movements, through modern efforts.
- Corruption In Education Systems In Developing CountriesDescription and study of failed and failing educational reform efforts in Africa and South America
- Elsevier International Development: EducationLinks to articles related to educational development
- TrustAfrica: Educational ReformDescription of Policy Agenda and Necessary social movements
- Comparative education in East Asia: Growth, development and contributions to the global fieldCase study of southeast Asia and educational development
Job and Volunteer Opportunities
- Devex International DevelopmentList of current positions available
- USAID JobsUSAID is hiring!
- UNDP JobsOffers jobs in vast fields of development
- Jobs 4 DevelopmentLinks to organizations with occupational vacancies, low- to mid- level positions available
- Getting Into Development: The Careers GroupFind Careers in Development
U.S.-based Organizations
International Educational Development Organizations
- OECD Educational Reform: Better Policies for Better LivesLinks to resources, statistics, books, and opportunities for development
- UNICEF Data: Monitoring the Situation of Children and WomenUNICEF measures the situation of children and women and tracks progress through data collection and analysis.
- CARE EducationLinks to case studies and statistics involving the development of education, and countries still holding back on equal education rights
- UN Development ProgrammeIndex to information on poverty rates and educational development statistics
- World LearningNon-profit organization focused on developing leadership worldwide through education, exchange and other programs in developing countries
- UNESCO EducationUnited Nations Educational, Social and Cultural Organization seeks to promote peace through global access to quality education. In 2011, literacy programs promoting peace and social cohesion in Burundi, Mexico, the USA and the DR Congo won the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes
- Education International - Development CooperationLinks to organizations focused on regional development
- Institute of International EducationA not-for-profit organization dedicated to advancing access to developing and providing access to international higher education
- US Agency for International Development (USAID)US Agency for International Development
Partners with developing countries to establish and fund development programs on targeted socio-economic challenges
Asia - Pacific
- Asian Development Bank | Education in Asia and the PacificFighting poverty through pro-active service and development