Your Library Liaison
Your Peer Research & Writing Specialist
Your Peer Research and Writing Specialist (PRWS or "Pro") for the Food Cluster is Katelyn Loh.
Set up a consultation with Katelyn to talk about research, writing, assignments, study skills, and getting settled in the Cluster program and at UCLA!
Office Hours:
Mondays at 10am-12pm
(Rieber Hall, LLC - Lounge)
Appointments: Schedule here
24/7 Research Help
UCLA and UC Library Catalogs
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
eBook Recommendations for Cluster M1
Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies by
Over the past decade there has been a remarkable flowering of interest in food and nutrition, both within the popular media and in academia. Scholars are increasingly using foodways, food systems and eating habits as a new unit of analysis within their own disciplines, and students are rushing into classes and formal degree programs focused on food. Introduced by the editor and including original articles by over thirty leading food scholars from around the world, the Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies offers students, scholars and all those interested in food-related research a one-stop, easy-to-use reference guide. Each article includes a brief history of food research within a discipline or on a particular topic, a discussion of research methodologies and ideological or theoretical positions, resources for research, including archives, grants and fellowship opportunities, as well as suggestions for further study. Each entry also explains the logistics of succeeding as a student and professional in food studies. This clear, direct Handbook will appeal to those hoping to start a career in academic food studies as well as those hoping to shift their research to a food-related project. Strongly interdisciplinary, this work will be of interest to students and scholars throughout the social sciences and humanities.
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781136741661Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics by
This Encyclopedia offers a definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important new area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them. It combines detailed analyses of specific topics such as the role of antibiotics in animal production, the Green Revolution, and alternative methods of organic farming, with longer entries that summarize general areas of scholarship and explore ways that they are related. Renewed debate, discussion and inquiry into food and agricultural topics have become a hallmark of the turn toward more sustainable policies and lifestyles in the 21st century. Attention has turned to the goals and ethical rationale behind production, distribution and consumption of food, as well as to non-food uses of cultivated biomass and the products of animal husbandry. These wide-ranging debates encompass questions in human nutrition, animal rights and the environmental impacts of aquaculture and agricultural production. Each of these and related topics is both technically complex and involves an - often implicit - ethical dimension. Other topics include methods for integrating ethics into scientific and technical research programs or development projects, the role of intensive agriculture and biotechnology in addressing persistent world hunger and the role of crops, forests and engineered organisms in making a transition to renewable, carbon-neutral sources of energy. The Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics proves an indispensible reference point for future research and writing on topics in agriculture and food ethics for decades to come.
ISBN: 9789400709287Date: 2014
Experiences of hunger and food insecurity in college
This volume explores the experience of hunger and food insecurity among college students at a large, public university in north Texas. Ninety-two clients of the campus food pantry volunteered to share their experiences through qualitative interviews, allowing the author to develop seven profiles of food insecurity, while at once exploring the impact of childhood food insecurity and various coping strategies. Students highlighted the issues of stigma and shame; the unwillingness to discuss food insecurity with their peers; the physical consequences of hunger and poor nutrition; the associations between mental health and nutrition; the academic sacrifices and motivations to finish their degree in the light of food insecurity; and the potential for raising awareness on campus through university engagement. Henry concludes the book with a discussion of solutions—existing solutions to alleviate food insecurity, student-led suggestions for additional resources, solutions in place at other universities that serve as potential models for similar campuses—and efforts to change federal policy.
ISBN: 9783030318185Date: 2020
Cookery: Food Rhetorics and Social Production by
The rhetoric of contemporary food production and consumption with a focus on social boundaries The rhetoric of food is more than just words about food, and food is more than just edible matter. Cookery: Food Rhetorics and Social Production explores how food mediates both rhetorical influence and material life through the overlapping concepts of invention and production. The classical canon of rhetorical invention entails the process of discovering one's persuasive appeals, whereas the contemporary landscape of agricultural production touches virtually everyone on the planet. Together, rhetoric and food shape the boundaries of shared living. The essays in this volume probe the many ways that food informs contemporary social life through its mediation of bodies--human and extra-human alike--in the forms of intoxication, addiction, estrangement, identification, repulsion, and eroticism. Our bodies, in turn, shape the boundaries of food through research, technology, cultural trends, and, of course, by talking about it. Each chapter explores food's persuasive nature through a unique prism that includes intoxication, dirt, "food porn," strange foods, and political "invisibility." Each case offers new insights about the relations between rhetorical influence and embodied practice through food. As a whole Cookery articulates new ways of viewing food's powers of persuasion, as well as the inherent role of persuasion in agricultural production. The purpose of Cookery, then, is to demonstrate the deep rhetoricity of our modern industrial food system through critical examinations of concepts, practices, and tendencies endemic to this system. Food has become an essential topic for discussions concerned with the larger social dynamics of production, distribution, access, reception, consumption, influence, and the fraught question of choice. These questions about food and rhetoric are equally questions about the assumptions, values, and practices of contemporary public life.
ISBN: 9780817320492Date: 2020
The Social Significance of Dining Out by
Dining out used to be considered exceptional; however, the Food Standards Authority reported that in 2014, one meal in six was eaten away from home in Britain. Previously considered a necessary substitute for an inability to obtain a meal in a family home, dining out has become a popular recreational activity for a majority of the population, offering pleasure as well as refreshment. Based on a major mixed-methods research project on dining out in England, this book offers a unique comparison of the social differences between London, Bristol and Preston from 1995 to 2015, charting the dynamic relationship between eating in and eating out. Addressing topics such as the changing domestic divisions of labour around food preparation, the variety of culinary experience for different sections of the population, and class differences in taste and the pleasures and satisfactions associated with dining out, the authors explore how the practice has evolved across the three cities.
ISBN: 9781526134769Date: 2020
On an Empty Stomach: Two Hundred Years of Hunger Relief by
Peter Redfield, author of Life in Crisis: "Richly detailed, engagingly told and always insightful, Tom Scott-Smith's genealogy redefines humanitarian history from the belly up. On an Empty Stomach leaves its reader with a very full mind." Michael Barnett, George Washington University, The Star and the Stripes: "In a compelling, well-written, and engaging account, Scott-Smith shows how the historical moment guides aid workers toward a standardized intervention that conveniently ignores how local cultures think about and treat hunger. An important contribution to medical anthropology and humanitarian studies." Jennifer Clapp, University of Waterloo: "On an Empty Stomach is a highly engaging and well-written account of the shifts in conceptions of hunger and humanitarian responses to it over time. Scott-Smith's analysis paints a fascinating and complex picture of the ways in which changing social conditions have shaped the dilemmas facing humanitarians in different historical eras."
ISBN: 9781501748677Date: 2020-04-15
Food and Sustainability Subject Headings
These links will take you to a list of all items in UC Library Search associated with that subject.
Other Online Books Collections
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryA consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections.