Arts and HumanitiesSciencesSocial SciencesLos Angeles and Southern California
This is the "Home" page of the "Image Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Image Resources   Tags: arts library, illustrations, images, pictures, visual resources  

Last Updated: Sep 2, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.ucla.edu/images Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Oudry, Jean-Baptiste. Allegory of Europe. 1722. Sarah Campbell Baffler Foundation. Houston, TX. Wikimedia Commons. Web. 4 September 2010.

Quick Start

  • ARTstor  Icon
    High resolution digital images of visual material from many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but not limited to, the arts. Search by keyword or browse by geographic location, classification (media), or collection (image repository).
  • AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive  Icon
    Over 4.6 million photographs from the Associated Press dating back to 1826 to present day. Tens of thousands of graphics, more than 4500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920's, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present.
  • UCLA Digital Collections  
      
    The UCLA Library's repository for digital collections, including images, texts, and audio. The collections include the AIDS Poster Collection, Images of UCLA, Los Angeles Times Photographs, Patent Medicine Trade Cards, and more.
  • Digital Images Collections Guide
    A curated bibliography of quality digital image collections spanning ~85 subjects, including ~950 digital collections.
  • Calisphere
    More than 200,000 digitized items, including photographs, documents, political cartoons, works of art, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts relating to California.

General Reference

Research assistance in the arts (Architecture, Art, Art History, Costume, Design, Fashion, Media Arts, Film, Photography, Television, Theater, and Urban Design) is available at the Arts Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.

Librarian Janine Henri is also available for image research adivce.

      
     

    Image Research in the UCLA Library

    Welcome to the UCLA Library guide for locating image resources.

    This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools, resources, and strategies for finding images. Please use the tabs above to locate frequently recommended resources such as finding out how to cite image resources, rights and reproduction, and a list of online resources to find images. If you have any questions or suggestions for additions to the guide, or, if you need additional assistance with your research, please do not hesitate to contact me!

    NEW!

    Spotted in the News:

    • Internet Archive Book Images
      A searchable database of historical copyright-free images. 2.6 million pictures are searchable in Flickr, thanks to tags that have been automatically added. The photos and drawings are sourced from more than 600 million library book pages scanned in by the Internet Archive.
    • Comparing Formats for Still Image Digitizing: Part One
      "The Still Image Working Group within the Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative." The first of two blog posts offers some background and notes about the tried-and-true TIFF-file-with-uncompressed-picture-data.
    • Comparing Formats for Still Image Digitizing: Part Two
      This second blog post offers some thoughts about JPEG 2000 and also PNG.
    • Metropolitan Museum’s Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC)
      More than 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.
    • Wellcome Images  Icon
      Thousands of years of visual culture made free through Wellcome Images; over 100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements are being released released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.

    Architecture, Design, and Digital Services Librarian

    Profile Image
    Janine Henri
    Contact Info
    Arts Library
    1400 Public Affairs Building
    Box 951392
    Los Angeles, CA 90095-1392
    Office: 310-206-4587
    Send Email
    Get Help:
    Janine's summer reference hours are by appointment only.
     

    Author's Note

    This research guide was originally compiled by Tammi Kim, Arts Library Graduate Intern, Summer 2010.  It is updated on a regular basis by Arts Library librarian Janine Henri. Please do not hesitate to suggest additional content! 

     

    Images Used

    Images used in this guide were found at the Wikimedia Commons and are part of the public domain.