Biomed Library Blog
Loading...
Online and Print References
- Medical Dictionary
- MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
- Merck Manual of Medical InformationCall Number: WB 130 M555 2003
- American Medical Association Family Medical GuideCall Number: WB 120 A512 2004
- Patient's Guide to Medical TestsCall Number: WB 141 S454p 2002
- New Wellness EncyclopediaCall Number: QT 180 N532 1995
Key Sites
- Family DoctorThis site is run by the American Academy of Family Physicians and contains information resources on medical conditions and features specific to women, men, seniors, and youth.
- HealthFinderCreated by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for the general public's use, Healthfinder compiles health information from credible sources including government agencies, educational institutions, and non-profit and professional organizations. It includes health news, consumer guides, a drug database, and library.
- Mayo ClinicThe Mayo Clinic provides resources from their medical practice and enables users to look up diseases, symptoms, drug information, and healthy living tips.
- MedlinePlusThis site is put together by the National Library of Medicine and is designed for the non-medical professional's understanding.
- Merck ManualBased on the Merck textbook, explains disorders, symptoms, diagnosis, prevention and treatment.
- National Institutes of HealthPut out by the U.S. department of health and human services, this site provides medical information and resources.
- National Library of MedicineThis U.S. site is the world's largest medical library and provides basic information on health with links to databases and resources to the public.
Related Subject Guides
- Resources in Animal Welfare and Alternative ModelsThis guide is designed to help campus researchers to comply with federal regulations by serving as a starting point for locating information and performing literature searches on any topic in the field of animal testing alternatives
- Resources in Complementary and Alternative MedicineThis guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on any topic in the field of complementary and alternative medicine.
- Resources in Consumer Health Please note that the UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library does not specifically collect information for consumer health.
- Resources in DentistryThis guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on any topic in the field of dentistry.
- Resources in East-West Medicine This Resources in East-West Medicine guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on any topic in the field of East-West medicine or Complementary Medicine/Alternative Medicine at UCLA Library.
- Resources in Genetics and GenomicsThis guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on genetics and genomics.
- Resources in Health and Politics This guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on health policy and political candidates.
- Resources in Human Biochemistry and NutritionThis guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on any topic in the field of human biochemistry and nutrition.
- Resources in Life SciencesThis guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on various aspects of life sciences.
- Resources in Nursing This guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on any topic in the field of nursing.
- Resources in Psychology This guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on any topic in the field of psychology.
- Resources in Public Health This guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on any topic in the field of public health.
- Resources in Vital and Health Statistics This guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating vital and health statistics.
- Resources in Health DisparitiesThis guide is designed to serve as a starting point for locating information on relevant resources pertaining to research done on health disparities.
General Reference
Research assistance in medicine is available at the Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.



Loading...
