Skip to main content

Powell Community Collections

Information about Powell Library's Community Collections, co-curated by students and student groups.

About the Cookbook Collection

The Community Cookbook Collection supports UCLA’s Healthy Campus Initiative by providing students with materials to learn how to cook for themselves, try new cuisines, and explore healthier food choices. The Bruin Culinary Community, a student group on campus, works with the library to select titles and display the collection. The collection is meant to be a “working” collection–one that goes home with students and is heavily used for practical purposes. It provides an entry point for students to become interested in the study of food and culture, a cross-disciplinary field that is studied by UCLA professors in different fields. The collection serves as a bridge to the deeper cookbook collections in the Research Library and Special Collections, which are intended primarily for research and teaching.

New and Popular Titles

Healthy Campus Initiative

The Powell Cookbook Collection supports the UCLA Healthy Campus Initiative, which fosters a campus where the healthy food and drink choice is the easy choice.

For more information, visit the UCLA Eat Well homepage.

Bruin Culinary Community

Our cookbook collection is co-curated with the Bruin Culinary Society, UCLA’s only student-run organization dedicated to creating a space where those who enjoy cooking can meet others who share a passion in the culinary world, while also educating those with a desire to learn how to cook in basic technique and recipe preparation. For more information, visit the community's Facebook page!

Your Librarian

Danielle Salomon is the librarian for this collection.

Request a Purchase!

Need a recipe we don't have? Email us and ask us to add a cookbook to the collection.