Research Guides - Browse by Subject
Choose a subject for a list of related guides.

  Search Guides: 
 
Music
Ethnomusicology
by Maureen Russell - Last Updated Oct 31, 2014
Music and Sound Recordings at UCLA
by Joy Doan, David Gilbert - Last Updated Nov 24, 2014
How to find music recordings and sound effects at UCLA.
Jazz Research
by Joy Doan, David Gilbert - Last Updated Oct 7, 2014
How to research jazz music and musicians.
Opera, Operetta, and Musical Theater
by Joy Doan - Last Updated Sep 17, 2014
How to research the history, performance, and criticism of western opera (e.g., opera buffa, opera seria), operetta, and musicals.
Popular Musicians and Bands
by Joy Doan, David Gilbert - Last Updated Sep 9, 2014
How to research popular musicians and bands, including rock, hip hop, rap, country, classic rock, 50's, etc.
Music Research Resources Online
by Joy Doan, David Gilbert - Last Updated Nov 26, 2014
Quick links and short descriptions of all internet resources for music available at UCLA.
Music Resources in Library Special Collections
by Peggy Alexander, Caroline Cubé - Last Updated Nov 14, 2012
This guide will point researchers to relevant collections and resources. If you have any questions or suggestions for additions to the guide, please contact Peggy Alexander
Music Scores and Sheet Music
by Joy Doan, David Gilbert - Last Updated Sep 8, 2014
How to find music scores and sheet music at UCLA or online: classical, jazz, popular music, etc.
Sheet Music in Library Special Collections
by Peggy Alexander, Caroline Cubé - Last Updated Oct 13, 2014
This guide will highlight specific features found in the UCLA Library Special Collections Sheet Music Collection. The guide is in process, and will be edited frequently.
Ethnomusicology 25: Global Pop
by David Gilbert - Last Updated Nov 19, 2014
Research resources, articles, books, ebooks, and recordings of popular music world wide.
Music History 70: Beethoven
by David Gilbert - Last Updated Sep 12, 2014
Film and Television Research in Library Special Collections
by Peggy Alexander, Caroline Cubé - Last Updated Nov 18, 2014
This guide serves as an orientation to use of relevant research materials held by Library Special Collections.
The Beatles
by Joy Doan - Last Updated Nov 26, 2014
This guide is designed to provide you with resources about the Beatles and their musical styling (e.g., Skiffle, Rock-n-Roll) that will help you to prepare for class exams, papers, and/or projects. Supports Music History 68/168.
Music History 125D: Music, History, and Culture, 1800-1900
by David Gilbert - Last Updated Oct 1, 2014
Provides research resources, articles, books, ebooks, and primary sources for music and culture, 1800-1900.
Music Theory and Composition
by Joy Doan - Last Updated Nov 24, 2014
Supports Music courses 20A, 20B, 120A, 123A, 140, C176, M201, 252, 256, and 260.
Ethnomusicology 108B: Music of Latin America: Latin South America
by Joy Doan - Last Updated Nov 24, 2014
This guides supports coursework for ETHNOMU 108B.

Music Collections Librarian

Profile Image
David Gilbert
Contact Info
UCLA Music Library
Contact me at the Reference Desk: 825-4882.
Send Email
Subjects:
Music