Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian
Michelle Brasseur
she/her
Contact:
Young Research Library, Level A
Subjects: History, Language & Literature
General Research Tools
- UCLA Library Research Tutorial VideosShort videos that break down the research process.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
Connect from Off-Campus or via Wireless On-Campus
Most of the links on these pages go to subscription sources which are accessible from any computer on campus. All campus wireless networks (eduroam, UCLA_WIFI, or UCLA_WEB) provide access to online subscription content.
UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access these sites from off-campus using either the Bruin Online Proxy Server (a simple setting in your browser) or the UCLA VPN Client (a program you install on your computer). To set up an iPAD, follow the instructions for the iPhone. You can also get access through UCLA mobile.
[NOTE: If you are using a Mac, you may need to use Chrome or Firefox, not Safari, to read some of the pdf material.]