What is Eat Well?
Eat Well is the pod focused on healthy food and drink choices. You can learn more by visiting the Eat Well website.
Basic information from the web
MedlinePlus provides links to authoritative information for the general public on many health issues. You can find summary information, news articles, health check tools, statistics, and a link to selected journal articles. Here are some links to MedlinePlus. Use the search box if you do not find what you are looking for.
Books
Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781136741661Date: 2013This book covers a wide range of food studies topics including arts, humanities, and social sciences, including food justice, food security, and food ethics.
Relevant organizations
- US Food and Drug Administration: FoodFDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring that foods (except for meat from livestock, poultry and some egg products which are regulated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture) are safe, wholesome, sanitary and properly labeled; ensuring that human and veterinary drugs, and vaccines and other biological products and medical devices intended for human use are safe and effective.
- US Department of AgricultureThe USDA provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management.
- US National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary SupplementsThe mission of ODS is to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements by evaluating scientific information, stimulating and supporting research, disseminating research results, and educating the public to foster an enhanced quality of life and health for the U.S. population.
- Academy of Nutrition and DieteticsThe Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.
Other useful links
- Food Composition from the USDA National Agriculture Library, Food and Nutrition Information CenterThis site includes a wide variety of information about food composition.
Cancer prevention and screening
- American Cancer Society — Cancer Facts and Figures 2015A report that provides data on trends in age-adjusted death rates for various types of cancer, the estimated number of new cases for certain cancers by state, and racial/ethnic disparities with respect to the incidence and death rates for selected cancers, among others.
- National Cancer Institute — Research-Tested Intervention Programs (RTIPs)A searchable database of 162 interventions related to cancer control. The database includes interventions on topics such as diet/nutrition, HPV vaccination, physical activity, and sun safety.
- National Cancer Institute — Cancer Control PlanetA webpage that includes information on comprehensive cancer control plans in both the U.S. and in foreign countries, displays state cancer profiles, and links to additional resources such as the Cancer Trends Progress Report and the Annual Report to the Nation on the Status of Cancer.
Guidelines and recommendations
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 8th edition, 2015 – 2020The 2015–2020 Dietary Guidelines is designed to help Americans eat a healthier diet. Intended for policymakers and health professionals, this edition of the Dietary Guidelines outlines how people can improve their overall eating patterns — the complete combination of foods and drinks in their diet.
- Healthy People 2030: Nutrition and Healthy EatingThe Nutrition and Weight Status objectives for Healthy People 2030 reflect strong science supporting the health benefits of eating a healthful diet and maintaining a healthy body weight. Includes links to policy data.
- USDA Nutrition Evidence Systematic ReviewUSDA’s Nutrition Evidence Systematic Review (NESR), formerly the Nutrition Evidence Library (NEL), specializes in conducting systematic reviews to inform Federal nutrition policy and programs. NESR staff collaborate with stakeholders and leading scientists using state-of-the-art methodology to objectively review, evaluate, and synthesize research to answer important diet-related questions.
- USDA — SNAP-ED Toolkit: Obesity Prevention Interventions and Evaluation FrameworkA toolkit that provides examples of nutrition and physical activity interventions in various settings such as child care, schools, and communities.
Data and statistics
- California Health Interview Survey — AskCHISThis tool lets you query results from the California Health Interview Survey. It's free to create an account. There are some diet-related variables, including soda consumption and and fruits and vegetables consumption.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
There are several food-related indicators under the Health menu, including grocery, farmer's markets, and SNAP locations; as well as fruit and vegetable consumption and obesity levels.
- Nutritive and Nonnutritive Sweetener ResourcesThis page contains links to information about sugars, acesulfame-K, aspartame, neotame, saccharin, sucralose and stevia.
- FoodData Central: USDA National Nutrient DatabaseUse this database to find the water, calories, protein, fats, carbohydrates, fiber, sugars, minerals, vitamins, lipids, and amino acids of over 8,700 foods.
- CDC — FastStats on Diet/NutritionA webpage that provides various data related to diet and nutrition such as the caloric intake from fast food among U.S. adults and the fruit and vegetable consumption of youth in the U.S.
- National Health and Nutrition Examination SurveyThis comprehensive survey is conducted regularly by the CDC to assess the health and nutrition status of children and adults.
Searching for research literature
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a very large database with records for millions of articles. It's easy to get overwhelmed! A great way to start your research is to take advantage of PubMed's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Try using the MeSH terms for Beverages, Food, and Nutritional Physiological Phenomena. You can browse for MeSH terms in the MeSH database. When you find one that you want to use, click the button on the right that says "Add to search builder." When you're finished adding MeSH terms to your search, you can search PubMed using the "Search PubMed" button. Getting too many results? Try going back to MeSH and checking the box that says "Restrict to MeSH Major Topic." This will limit your search results to only the most relevant articles. Remember you can also use the filters on the left side of the PubMed results screen! Using the Article Type - Review filter is particularly helpful when you're starting your research.
- Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Includes cookbooks, menus, documentaries, vintage commercials, diet trends, and more.