Skip to Main Content

Legacy Online and Flash Exhibits in Library Special Collections

This guide aggregates legacy online exhibits. It also features flash exhibits of in-house exhibits that were typically on display for less than two weeks.

For Your Consideration: BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY

Sheet music for "Bohemian Rhapsody." "Bohemian Rhapsody" appears on side 2, track 4 of A Night at the Opera.  When it was released as a single, it became their first number 1 hit on the UK charts and stayed there for 9 weeks.  Although reviews were mixed, it still stands as one of rock history's greatest songs and was entered into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2004.
How Queen would have looked in 1975. Queen in 1985 when they performed at Live Aid.
A scene from the "Bohemian Rhapsody"  music video.  In 1992, the film, Wayne's World gave "Bohemian Rhapsody" new life in of moviedom's iconic scenes in which Mike Meyers, Dana Carvey, and their back seat buddies head banged to the song while riding an AMC Pacer.
Nearly 6 minutes long, "Bohemian Rhapsody," written by Freddie Mercury, appeared on the A Night at the Opera album (released November 21, 1975), Queen's 4th album.  The album was Queen's first Platinum selling record in the US and was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2018.  It remains one of the world's greatest albums.

 

 

Sheet Music collection (Collection 0147)

E! Entertainment Library Collection of Picture Files and Tabloids (Collection 352)

The Kip Hannan Personal Collection of Queen Ephemera

For Your Consideration: VICE

      

This poster against the war on Iraq circulated in the 2000s and many protests were held in the U.S. following the 2003 invasion of Iraq. This photograph of an Anti-War protest was taken sometime in the 2000s during the Iraq War.
This postcard photograph of the United States Capitol building was taken from the Library of Congress at Washington, D.C.
This newspaper clipping of Dick Cheney's meeting with Defense Secretary Donald H. Rumsfeld was published in The New York Times on May 14, 2003. This newspaper clipping of Cheney's stake in Iraqi oil was published in The Chronicle on February 24, 2003.
This newspaper clipping of soldiers and families opposing the Iraq War was published in War Times/Tiempo de Guerras in February-March 2004.

 

V. Vale Collection of Search and Destroy and RE/Search Publications Records, 1927 - 2014 (Collection 1858)

Rosalio Muñoz papers, 1938 - 2012 (Collection 2115)

Wilkinson Collection of Library Postcards, ca. 1900 - 1990 (Collection 1824)

Ellen Stern Harris papers (Collection 1287)

 

For Your Consideration: THE FAVOURITE

  

These photographs of Queen Elizabeth II, consort of Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip, was taken during November of 1957 at a Washington D.C. press reception.

These broadside ballads from England are specifically dedicated to the Queen of Great Britain at the time. The one on the right illustrates the Queen’s ascension to the throne of England, printed between 1828 and 1829. The one on the left describes the Queen’s Ball on June 6, 1845, during Queen Victoria’s reign.
Performing one of her royal duties, the Queen Mother is greeting the crowd warmly in this scene. Painting of Queen Victoria, 1899.

The album above contains photographs of Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee procession of 1897.  A diamond jubilee is a celebration held to mark the 60th anniversary of an event.  The procession consisted of a 17-carriage convoy carrying the royal family and leaders of Britain's colonies at the time.  Eight cream horses pulled the queen in an open carriage.  The procession, which included representatives of all Empire nations, swept by many of London's landmarks, such as Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery, London Bridge, and Big Ben.  Below is a close-up.

 

The Walter E. Bennett photographic collection (Collection 686)

Collection of Broadside Ballads from England, Ireland, and the United States (Collection 605)

Diamond Jubilee Procession (Collection 94, Album 46)

For Your Consideration: A STAR IS BORN (2018)

 

     

        

1937 A Star is Born starring Janet Gaynor and Frederic March and directed by David O'Selznick.

  

Above and below:  1954 A Star is Born starring Judy Garland and James Mason, and directed by George Cukor.

   

 

Below:  1976 A Star is Born starring Barbra Streisand and Kris Kristofferson and directed by Frank Pierson.

 

For Your Consideration: BLACK PANTHER

Wakanda Forever

 

The origins of the Black Panther are difficult to pin down.

Did the name originate with the famed all African-American 761st tank battalion, the first segregated armored unit to see combat in World War II? Or did the name pierce the national consciousness courtesy of the Lowndes County Freedom Organization (LCFO), also known as the Black Panther Party, which formed in 1965 as part of the voting rights campaign in Alabama?

More likely the name was part of the zeitgeist of black power that percolated throughout urban America. The comic book character makes its debut in July 1966, issue n. 52 of Marvel Comics’ Fantastic Four; the storied political party and civil rights group was founded 3 months later in Oakland, California.

Over the years the comics character appeared periodically, notably vol. 4 of the eponymous series (2005-2008) with African-American filmmaker Reginald Hudlin as head writer.

The commercial success of the latest iteration of the comic book, revived by National Book Award winner Ta-Nehisi Coates, has updated the series to reflect the current political climate, including the rapid gentrification of Harlem. Although the Oscar™ nominated movie is based on the characters created by Marvel’s Stan Lee and Jack Kirby, it’s the current series that informs the visual aesthetics and cultural drive of the film.
The Marvel Comics series Fantastic Four # 52 marks the first appearance of the Black Panther character. Glen Keiser Collection of Comic Books, Fantasy Drawings, and Realia (Collection 1493).

Although the character appeared in numerous Marvel superhero series and was the main character of Jungle Action nos. 5-24 (Sept. 1973-Nov. 1976), this iteration marks the first use of The Black Panther as a comic book title. Collection of Comic Books, First Issues (Collection 2002).

 

Ta-Nehisi Coates’ father was a member of the Black Panther Party. The party’s visual iconography and emphasis on self-defense informs both the latest series and the film.  The Vanguard; a photographic essay on the Black Panthers, by Ruth-Marion Baruch and Pirkle Jones. Boston : Beacon Press, [1970]  E185.5 .B3 

 

 

The urban setting for the film is Oakland, California (home of the Black Panther Party) but Black Panther & the Crew is set in Harlem. Both works highlight the threats of income inequality and gentrification on communities of color.  Black Panther & the Crew : We are the streets  by Ta-Nehisi Coates (#1-6) and Yona Harvey (#2, #4, #6) . New York, NY : Marvel Worldwide, Inc. 2017.  PS508.1.Z9 C637w 2017

Black Panther. Book 4, Avengers of the New World. Part one, by Ta-Nehisi Coates, et al. New York : Marvel Worldwide, Inc., [2017]  PS508.1.Z9 C637a 2017

Glen Keiser Collection of Comic Books, Fantasy Drawings, and Realia (Collection 1493)

Collection of Comic Books, First Issues (Collection 2002)