Pictures
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
High-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection.
Paris, 19th Century
Films
How to search for movies about 17th, 18th, 20th century Paris or France? Go to the Explore Keywords page of the International Movie Database IMDB database! The most effective way is to search first for the time period (17th century or 18th century or World War), and then limit the search for France or Paris.
A few films about the time period of the class:
Paris: The Luminous Years (Documentary)
Digitized Historical Materials
GALLICA is the electronic library of the French National Library. It is a searchable database of texts, maps, images,manuscripts, etc. Texts are mostly written in French, but many documents can be found by searching for proper names (e.g. Champs Elysées).
Search for images here: Gallica Images
Search for maps here: Gallica maps
Search for texts here: Gallica books
This is an image from Gallica; a plan of the Avenue of Champs Elysées and the Place de la Concorde from 1826: