Books
>Search strategy:
- Do a keyword search (for example "Paris urban planning") and select a few titles that you think would be useful for your paper. Look at the subject headings closely. Select those subject headings that you think will be the most relevant.
- Click on the subject heading. The result will show how many books have the same subject heading, i.e. how many books are about the same topic. The link will get you to the records of the books. Here are a few from the hundreds of interesting books in English from the catalog:
- Sutcliffe, Anthony. Paris: An Architectural History. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1993.
- Van Zanten, David. Building Paris. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994.
- Von Kalnein, Wend. Architecture in France in the Eighteenth Century . New Haven: Yale University Press, 1972.
- DeJean, Joan E. How Paris Became Paris: The Invention of the Modern City. New York, NY: Bloomsbury, 2014.
- Kirkland, Stephane. Paris Reborn: Napoléon III, Baron Haussmann, and the Quest to Build a Modern City. New York: St. Martin Press, 2013.
Paris, 18th Century
Article Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955. - FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - CAIRN General Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to selected Belgian and French journals, from 2001 to present. UCLA subscribes only to a subset of this collection: CAIRN French Bouquet Studies. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Indexes publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
Articles
Below are a few randomly found articles about the biography of Paris. The databases listed in box "Article Databases" include a lot more.
- Gandy, Matthew. "The Paris Sewers and the Rationalization of Urban Space." Transactions of the Institute of British Geographers 24, , no. 1 (1999): 23-44.
- French Historical Studies 27 , no. 1 (Winter 2004): 87-113. Special Issue: New Perspectives on Modern Paris
- Pickney, David H. “Money and Politics in the Rebuilding of Paris, 1860-1870,” The Journal of Economic History 17, no. 1 (March 1957): 45-61.
Sources on the Internet
- H-France - publishes several journals on-line, freely available to the public. H-France Review is the premier review program for newly published books on French history and culture in the Anglophone world. Its body of more than 2000 reviews offer extended scholarly critical analysis of the current research in history, literature, art history, music history, history of science, and philosophy. H-France Forum highlights significant new books in French history by developing forum reviews in which four scholars critique a recently published book and the book’s author offers a response. H-France Salon pursues innovative publishing strategies which use both print and audio-visual components to expand scholarship in new digital directions.
- Hausmann's Paris. - The Art History Archive. Architecture
- Paris in the 19th Century. - historical maps from the University of Chicago.
- Paris Architecture - palaces, churches, apartment buildings, monuments.
- 19th Century Paris - website designed by San Jose University.