History 191C: Paris: Biography of City. 1715 to Present (Winter 2015, sem 2)

How to Find a Book

Books that deal with the topic of this course can be found in the following libraries of UCLA:

  • Powell Library
  • Young Research Library – research collections in the social sciences and humanities
  • Arts Library – collections in the arts, architecture, performing arts
  • Music Library – collections in music

The library map shows the exact location of these libraries.

Basic Searches in the Catalog

The UCLA Library catalog includes records of all kinds of library materials (except for films) held in the libraries listed above as well as other UCLA libraries. A tutorial explains the basic search strategies in the UCLA Library catalog.

More Advanced Searches in the Catalog

Most of the records in the catalog have subject headings indicating the topic of the book, periodical, etc. Subject headings are the best search terms for more advanced searching.

How to Find Articles

To look for a specific journal or an article of which you know the citation...

To find articles on a topic...

Go to one or more of the article databases.

Some databases contain the full text of the articles, others only bibliographic information (author, title, subject etc.). Almost every database that contains only bibliographic information has a link, called UC-eLinks, to either the full text of the article or to a record in the catalog, if the library has a print copy. If there is no online version and the library does not have a copy, UC-eLinks will also let you request a copy from another library (interlibrary loan).

UC-eLinks logo 

Quick Links

Paris

Primary and Secondary Sources

Primary Sources

Documents, books, pictures, objects produced by the person of your study or at the time of your topic.

Types of primary sources:

  • diaries, letters, autobiographies, official documents, etc.
  • novels, short novels, poetry, drama, music, paintings, other art work produced at the time of the topic studied
  • objects, artifacts produced at the time of the topic studied

Secondary Sources

Works that analyse primary sources, the person(s), or the period of time of the topic studied.