Connecting from Off-Campus
Most of the links on this page go to subscription sources that are accessible from any computer on campus. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can also access these sites from off-campus using either the Proxy Server (a simple setting in your browser) or the VPN Client (a program you install on your computer).
Core Architecture and Urban Design Indexes
Several of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold UC-eLinks button to do an automated search to find the full text, or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
The most important databases for locating journal articles about architecture and urban design topics are:
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Indexes publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present.
- Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Online Catalogue This link opens in a new windowDetails of books and audiovisual materials acquired by the RIBA Library (main professional architecture Library in the UK) and articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals. Includes Architectural Publications Index (API) compiled by the British Architectural Library of the Royal Institute of British Architects.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
Interdisciplinary Indexes and Databases
These interdisciplinary databases can also be important resources in locating architecture and urban design topics.
A complete listing of databases available at UCLA is available at A-Z Databases.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. jstore, jsotr, jrstor, jsot, Jsror, jsstor, Jstar, j-stor, jstory, jstot, Jstr, jstsor, justor, jsot, jsage, jsot, Jsror, Jsror, jsstor, J star, j-star
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. Full-Text Journals, johns hopkins university, milton s. eisenhower library, Project MIse, project mus, projectmuse, moose, project moose
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
Special Focus Databases
General advice on using article databases can be found at Choosing and Using Library Databases.
Depending on your research topic, you might find that some of the following databases include relevant information.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The search, analytics, and navigation tools that engineers need to efficiently generate research, assess the impact and relevancy of critical information, and discover new insights for addressing the world’s toughest engineering challenges. Also contains access to Compendex, Inspec, and Knovel. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Newspapers
Don't forget newspapers!