Skip to main content

English 4W, English Composition 5W, and English Composition 100W

This guide supports students in English 4W: Critical Reading and Writing, English Composition 5W: Literature, Culture, and Critical Inquiry, and English Composition 100W: Interdisciplinary Academic Writing.

Journal Article Indexes

Here is a short list of useful articles databases for literature. You can locate other relevant databases by going to the Library's electronic resources database and looking up articles databases by subject area. Click on Literature (or English and Comparative Literature). A list of literature-related articles databases will be displayed.

 is your link to full-text!

Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold UC-eLinks button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.

Research Help

Research and Writing Assistance in the Powell Library Inquiry Labs

Need research help? Schedule a free research consultation at the Powell Library Inquiry Labs (room 220) or just drop in 10am-6pm Monday-Thursday, noon-5pm Friday.

Off-Campus Access

Bruin Online Proxy Server

UCLA VPN Client

Most of the links on these pages go to licensed resources which are accessible from any computer on campus. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access these sites from off-campus using either the Bruin Online Proxy Server (a simple setting in your browser) or the UCLA VPN Client (a program you install on your computer).