Online Archive of California (OAC)
Keyword search for primary source materials in UCLA's online finding aids:
Photographic Albums
Library Special Collections holdings contain over 340 historically significant photographic albums, from the 19th and 20th centuries. California, Latin America, and the Middle East are well represented. The albums document travel; the architecture and monuments of a country; local people and customs; and events, such as parades, anniversaries, construction projects, and wars.
Resources and search strategies:
Use UC Library Search. To search the Photographic Album Collection (Collection 94) in UC Library Search, use a keyword search in quotations “collection 94”. Search results will display a complete list of the albums that have been cataloged. A call number search for 094/ will retrieve a complete list of albums cataloged in numerical order.
Use an author search to search for a photographer's name. The collection contains the work of many of the great 19th century photographers such as:
|
|
Use a subject search to search for a type of photograph or photographic process, such as:
|
|
Search the geographic location of the subject of the photograph e.g., Turkey — Photographs, Yosemite National Park (Calif.) — Photographs, Pasadena (Calif.) — Photographs
Records for the albums contain a detailed list of subject headings and may be searched by a multitude of topics, such as:
|
|
The sub-heading "Photographs" is always used to indicate that the resource is an original photograph. Each album record also includes the subject heading “Photograph albums” and a subject search for this term retrieves examples of this genre.
Searching the Online Archive of California
The only search option in the OAC is by keyword. A keyword search for "collection 94" in quotations will display all cataloged albums in this collection. Also, try similar search terms described in the previous section in UC Library Search.
Finding Albums without an Online Record
Ask a staff member for assistance to search the card catalog that is available at the reference desk on the B level of the Charles E. Young Research Library.
Selected Highlights from Collection 94
- Brady, Mathew B., Album of Civil War-era carte de visite portraits, 1861-1865. [Coll. 94/71]
- Bird, Isabella L., Photograph album of Isabella Bird’s travels on horseback from Baghdad to Tehran, 1890. [Coll. 94/93]
- Courret, Eugenio, Recuerdos del Peru?, between 1863 and 1871. Albumen prints of views of Lima, Peru, alternating with portraits of women. [Coll. 94/325]
-
Cure, Alfred Capel, Photograph albums of Alfred Capel Cure, 1850-1856. salt prints. [Coll. 94/22 v. 1-2]
-
Hammerschmidt, W., Monuments de l'Egypte ancienne et moderne, 1860-1869 [Coll. 94/35]
-
Hazard, George Washington,[Hazard-Dyson Los Angeles photograph album], [1880-1910] [Coll. 94/171]
-
Middlebrook, J.E., South African souvenir, 1898. Platinum prints. [Coll. 94/58]
-
Valentine, James, Glen Tilt, 1871 [94/37]; Souvenir of Lude, 1871 [94/330]; Photograph album of views of Scotland, [94/331]
-
Photograph album of Rio de Janeiro, color prints from the 1960s [Coll. 94/321]
-
[Photograph album documenting Iraq just before the 1920 rebellion], ca. 1919 [94/335]
Additional Photographic Albums Outside Collection 94
Many albums also reside within the personal papers and manuscripts of other collections. Try a keyword search that is relevant for your research topic in the Online Archive of California.
Latin American photographs and photograph albums
- Photograph Album Collection
This collection contains photographs, etc., of both persons and places in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela. - Picture Collection, 1890-Individual photographs of Brazil and Mexico primarily, 1870s to 1930s.
- Ferrocarril Central from Callao to Chicla, Peru Photograph album of views, 1882-1889Album of photographs of travel through Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, and Hawaii, probably dating from 1883-1889.
- Palmer Family Papers, 1800-1960265 glass negatives, primarily of Chile, but also Peru, Mexico and Central America.
- Andrew West Photographs of the Guelaguetza, 1982-1985Photographs of La Guelaguetza and Saints Day Celebration festivals held in Oaxaca, Mexico in 1982 and 1985.
- Jimenez (Mario A.) Costa Rica Collection, 1800-1958Mario Alberto Jiménez (1911-61) was a Costa Rican journalist. The collection consists of 19th and 20th century Costa Rican documents, correspondence, pamphlets on various subjects, photographs, post cards, and miscellaneous ephemera.
- Leopold (Werner F.) Costa Rica Photograph Collection, ca. 1923-1926Collection consists of postcards, photographs, and photograph albums related to life in Costa Rica collected by Werner F. Leopold. The bulk of the collection documents social life and customs in Costa Rica and includes urban, rural, and nature scenes. Also includes photographs of earthquake effects, views of the Irazu volcano, images from Barbados, Panama, and Venezuela, and a copy of a German manuscript related to a journey from Germany to Costa Rica in 1853.
- Lima to Huanuco, Peru - Photograph albums of journey from Lima to Huanuco, Peru, 1910?Three albums containing photographs of a journey by Gustav Glage, a German engineer, from Lima to Huánuco, around 1910.
- Mexico Photograph album, 1883-1900Album of photographs (12 x 19 cm or smaller, some cropped) taken in Mexico, probably between 1883 and 1900.
- Mistral (Gabriela) collection 1924-1948The collection consists of artwork, certificates, diplomas, newspaper issues and photographs relating to the Chilean writer and poet Gabriela Mistral (born Lucila Godoy y Alcayata) (1889-1957). Ranging in date from circa 1924 to 1948, the collection highlights the fame and recognition Gabriela Mistral achieved both in Chile and worldwide. The contents reveal her many friendships with artistic and political contemporaries, as well as the many admirers of her work. Includes photograph albums related to Chile and Mistral's career.
- Montevideo Photograph album, 1892Album of photographs of Montevideo, Uruguay and surrounding area from 1892 by John Fitz-Patrick.
- Montevideo Vistas 1919 photograph albumSouvenir album, dated May 2, 1919, containing 50 gelatin print photographs of the city of Montevideo.
- Recuerdo de Montevideo / por Bate y Ca., Calle 33, ns. 170 y 172 [1860-1867?]Album containing ten photos of streets, market place, and special buildings of Montevideo, Uruguay, issued by Bate y Ca. during the 1870s.
- Recuerdos del Perú between 1863 and 1871Photograph album, probably from 1871, containing 25 urban views of Lima, Peru, and 64 studio portraits of middle and upper class women of Lima by Eugenio Courret.
- Rio de Janeiro Photograph album, 196-Album containing 35 amateur small (9 x 13 cm) color snapshot photographs of Rio de Janeiro.
- Photographs referred to in Engineer's Report (Buenos Aires Southern Dock Company, Ltd.), 1902-1903Album of 55 gelatin silver prints (178 x 235 mm), including two 4-part folding panoramas (178 x 940 mm), dated Oct. 3, 1902-May 7, 1903, documenting the construction of a large dock facility on the southern side of the Riachuelo near the South Basin of the port of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
- Venezuelan vistas : Spanish American life, and some notes on a year in Caracas, the capital city of Venezuela, 1890Scrapbook containing the travel account by Ervine Denison York, General Manager and Assistant Vice-President of the American Telephone Company, of his travels from Washington, D.C. to Caracas, Venezuela via Cuba, between April 24,1889 and Mar. 30, 1890, illustrated with 103 photographs (some cyanotypes), most of which were taken by York himself, printed maps and illustrations, calling cards, bank notes, postage stamps, menus, business correspondence and other memorabilia of his travels.