Los Angeles Public Library
Not all articles are available in databases that UCLA subscribes to. The Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) has over 250 databases available to anyone with an LAPL library card. You can get an ECARD online-no need to go to a library.
The most useful database to try searching is Research Library (ProQuest), which UCLA does not subscribe to. It has some online journals not at UCLA.
Article Databases
This is a very select list of available article databases. If you want to look for others, go to this page and click through to your discipline (political science, sociology, history, etc.). Here you will find a selection of the most useful databases for each discipline listed.
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
- Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text.
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. It is interdisciplinary, so you can find articles on almost any subject. - Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from over 2400 U.S. and international Blogs, Journals, Newspapers, Newswires, Video, Web-Only Sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete text of independent press and alternative magazines and journals, 1995 to the present. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of over 200 ethnic, minority and Native American publications, 1990 to the present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text and index of core journals in the social sciences & humanities from their starting dates to about 5 years ago. For more recent articles, check Academic Search Complete (see link above). - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text and index of articles in over 5000 newspapers and periodicals for about the last 20 years in a wide range of topics including current affairs, business, law, and medicine. Also includes court decisions, recent legislation, and statistics. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times. Page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, etc., are searchable and displayable up to 1992. Issues after that date do not include page images. Click on Change databases to add other databases, such as the New York Times and search them at the same time. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles in 1300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from about 3,900 journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences, dating from 1966 to the present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles from over 2,600 journals, books, conference papers, and dissertations in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index of scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, including proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Search cited references, authors, titles, subjects.
