Listen to Select Recordings of These Titles 

The University of California at Santa Barbara hosts the UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive. Before MP3s, CDs, cassettes and vinyl records, people listened to … cylinders. First made of tinfoil, then wax and plastic, cylinder recordings, commonly the size and shape of a soda can, were the first commercially produced sound recordings in the decades around the turn of the 20th century.

The UCSB Library, with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the Grammy Foundation, and donors, has created a digital collection of more than 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections. To bring these recordings to a wider audience, the Library makes them available to download or stream online for free.

This searchable database features all types of recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings.

Recordings of World War I Sheet Music

Click on the title to hear recording

All titles are found in the UCLA Library Special Collections Sheet Music Collection, Col. PASC-M 147

• After You’ve Gone, 1918, box 98
• All Those in Favor Say Aye, box 1212
• America, Here's My Boy,1917, box 1165
• Are We Downhearted, No, No, No, 1917, box 1251
• Battle Song of Liberty, 1917, box 1446, 1583
• Bing Bang Bing ‘em on the Rhine, 1918, box 654
• Camouflage, 1917, box 1183
• Daddy, I Want to Go, box 1601
• Dear Old Pal Of Mine, 1918, box 1194,1602
• Dixie is Dixie Once More, 1919, box 1241
• Don’t Bite the Hand That’s Feeding You, 1915, box 545,601,1330
• Don't Forget the Salvation Army, 1919, box 1701
• Everything is Peaches Down in Georgia, box 859,1616
• For Dixie and Uncle Sam, 1916, box 1264
• God Be With Our Boys Tonight, 1917, box 558, 654
• Good Bye Broadway, Hello France, 1917, box 859, 665
• Hello Central, Give Me No Man's Land, 1918, box 1176
• How Ya Gonna Keep em Down on the Farm (After They've Seen Paree?), 1919, box 543
• I Didn’t Raise My Boy to Be a Soldier, 1915, box 1190
• I Don't Know Where I'm Goin', But I'm On My Way, 1917, box 1190
• I Don’t Want to Get Well, 1917, box 1190
• I May Be Gone for a Long, Long Time, 1917, box 1178
• I'd Feel at Home If They'd Let Me Join the Army, 1917, box 1652
• I'm Afraid, box 1171
• I've Got My Captain Working For Me Now, 1919, box 1149
• If He Can Fight Like He Can Love, Good Night Germany!. 1918, box 876
• Joan of Arc They Are Calling You, 1917, box 601
• K-K-K-Katy, 1918, box 859
• Keep the Home Fires Burning (Till the Boys Come Home), 1914, box 1186
• Last Long Mile, 1917, box 354
• Long Boy, 1917, box 1179
• Mammy's Chocolate Soldier, 1918, box 1730
• Oh, Frenchy, 1918, box 601
• Oh How I Hate to Get Up in the Morning, 1918, box 1157
• Over There, 1917, box 654
• Pack Up Your Troubles in Your Old Kit Bag and Smile, Smile, Smile!, 1915, box 16
• Some Day, 1918, box 994
• Somewhere in France, 1918, box 999
• Till We Meet Again, 1918, box 17
• We’ll Do Our Share (While You’re Over There), 1918, box 1961
• We’re All Going Calling on the Kaiser, 1918, box 1961
• We’re Going Over, 1917, box 1961
• What Kind of American Are You, What Are You Doing Over Here, 1917, box 3
• When Alexander Takes His Ragtime Band to France, 1918, box 529
• When Yankee Doodle Learns To "Parlez Vous Français", 1917, box 21
• When You Come Back (And You Will Come Back, There's the Whole World Waiting For You), 1918, box 601
• Worst is Yet to Come, box 1125
• You'll Find Old Dixieland In France, 1918, box 24

Recordings of World War II Sheet Music

Click on the title to hear recording

All titles are found in the UCLA Library Special Collections Sheet Music Collection, Col. PASC-M 147

• Any Bonds Today, 1941, box 26,872,1150
• Bell Bottom Trousers, 1944, box 13, 762, 872, 1400
• Captains of the Clouds, 1940, box 64
• Dear Mom, box 1210
• First Class Private Mary Brown, 1944, box 876
• For the Flag, For the Home, For the Family (For the Future of All Mankind), 1942, box 874
• Hats Off to MacArthur, 1942, box 875
• He Wears a Pair of Silver Wings, 1941, box 555,872,875
• He's 1-A in the Army and He's A-1 in My Heart, 1941, box 875
• He's Home For a Little While, box 816
• I Came Here to Talk For Joe, 1942, box 872,876
• I'll Walk Alone, 1944, box 554
• I'm Getting Tired So I Can Sleep, 1942, box 875
• Johnny Doughboy Found a Rose in Ireland, 1942, box 874,1210
• Leave the Dishes in the Sink Ma, box 1321
• Milkman, Keep Those Bottles Quiet, box 39,87,876
• My Guy's Come Back, 1945, box 876
• My Sister and I, 1941, box 20,27,1162
• No Love, No Nothin', 1943, box 40,560
• Ration Blues, 1943, box 1006
• Shhh, It's a Military Secret, 1942, box 1334
• Slip of the Lip (Can Sink a Ship), box 1412
• Stars and Stripes On Iwo Jima, box 988
• That Soldier of Mine, box 1418
• There'll Be a Jubilee, 1944, box 1043
• Three Little Sisters, 1942, box 876,1420
• Til Reveille, 1941, box 875
• We Did It Before and We Can Do It Again, 1941, box 561,872
• What  Do You Do (In the Infantry), box 9,1379
• Wonder When My Baby's Coming Home, 1942, box 27,41,875,876