Skip to main content

Sheet Music in Library Special Collections

This guide will highlight specific features found in the UCLA Library Special Collections Sheet Music Collection. The guide is in process, and will be edited frequently.

How to Find It! (By Title)

There are a few ways to find sheet music titles.

Step 1: Search for the title in the Sheet Music Collection finding aid available through the Online Archive of California (OAC).

If you do not find the title in the finding aid, proceed to Step 2.

Step 2: Search for the title in the UCLA Library Catalog by doing a keyword search, enclose the title in quotation marks, and add the phrase "printed music" to your search terms.

"I Like Your Apron and Your Bonnet" "printed music"

If you find the title you are looking for, click on the appropriate catalog record, record the call number and proceed to step 3.

Step 3: Search for the call number in the OAC Sheet Music Collection finding aid.

If, after all, you do not find the title you are after, consult your friendly, local Library Special Collections staff member, or, the Performing Arts Curator, Peggy Alexander.

How to Find It! (In Collections)

In addition to the two major collections, The Sheet Music Collection, 1890- and The Sheet Music Pre-1890 Collection, sheet music is also found within other collections in the UCLA Library Special Collections. Be sure to search within these collections if you do not find what you are looking for in the two major sheet music collections or individually by title through the Library catalog.

The following are collections which include sheet music as well as other materials:

Cross Dressing Performers