Library Catalog
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Finding Books and More in the UCLA Library Catalog
E-books
Full list of E-books in Science and Engineering. The following are ebook databases.
- AccessEngineering (selected titles)
This link opens in a new window
McGraw-Hill's engineering and technical books.
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for research in American government, politics, legislation, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Political Handbook of the World, Congress Collection, Supreme Court Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection. (For CQ Press e-books, see Sage Knowledge.)
- Elsevier (ScienceDirect) eBooks 2013-present
- This link opens in a new window
This collection covers science, technology, and health sciences disciplines (excluding specialty medical titles). After searching, limit to Book Chapters. - IEEE-Wiley E-Books 1974-2010
- This link opens in a new window
(Use Wiley Online Library for 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.)
IEEE Xplore E-books provides Web access to more than over 1,000 E-books from the fields of electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Individual chapters can be downloaded as a PDF.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of technical reference works and online tools for engineers.
- National Academies Press E-booksThe National Academies (National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council) e-books and reports are freely available online. Registration may be required to download PDF versions.
- Springer E-books 2005-present
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly every Springer e-book (~120,000 titles) published in English and German from 2005 to present, across many disciplines.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection.
- Wiley E-books 2011-presentIncludes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
UCLA Library Catalog Search Tips
- Use keywords to locate books that have relevant information. Find one book that looks appropriate and locate subject headings. Use the subject headings to find appropriate books and refine your search.
- Use truncation symbols. In the UCLA Library Catalog, engineer? will retrieve engineer, engineers, engineered, engineering, etc. Check each catalog to see what symbol it uses (*, ?, $).
- Remember: you can sort results by date as well as relevance. A book that sounds perfect for your topic may be outdated. If you find one of these, try step 1) above to find similar newer titles.
Google Books Search
Google Book Search does not provide the entire text of a book online unless the book is in the public domain. Try searching with terms appropriate to your topics. If you find a book that sounds interesting, check to see if it is in the UCLA Library Catalog.
Featured Books
Writing for Science by ISBN: 0300115512
How to Write & Publish Engineering Papers and Reports by ISBN: 0897746503
