Archive of Americana
The Archive of Americana, from Newsbank, contains a wide selection of subsidiary databases which can be searched individually or in various intermediate groupings. This listing shows all the various parts which UCLA subscribes to, and how they fit together.
- Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more, detailing life in 17th-, 18th-, and 19th-century America. Includes America's Historical Imprints; Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876; America's Historical Newspapers; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. - America's Historical Imprints (Shaw-Shoemaker) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
- American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimiles of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, as well as ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900. Includes sailing cards, confessions, playbills, menus, music programs, and more. Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collection.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- This link opens in a new window
More than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides. Based on American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography. - Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
- This link opens in a new window
36,000 American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the early 19th century. Based on American Bibliography, a Preliminary Checklist by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 (America's Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of fully searchable historical newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., chronicling the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. Series One covers 1690-1876, and Series Two includes 1690-1900.
- American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session. - U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presenting every publication from the 15th through 103rd Congress, the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994, the database is searchable by subject, publication category, standing committee author, and other parameters.Includes the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives.