Librarian for Jewish and Israel Studies
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
Finding Books
To locate print resources in a library near you, search these catalogs:
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
Comprehensive Accounts of Jewish Life in Los Angeles
The UCLA Library houses hundreds of books about Los Angeles' history and American Jewish history that can be accessed through the UCLA Library Catalog. Listed below are the most comprehensive of these studies, each of which provides an overview of Los Angeles' Jewish history.
- Sixty Years in Southern California, 1853-1913, containing the reminiscences of Harris NewmarkHarris Newmark (New York: Houghton Mifflin Co., 1930)
- History of the Jews of Los AngelesMax Vorspan and Lloyd Gartner (San Marino, CA: Huntington Library, 1970)
- Jewish Life in Los Angeles: A Window to TomorrowNeil Sandburg (Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 1986)
- An Empire of Their Own: How the Jews Invented HollywoodNeil Gabler (New York: Crown Publishers, 1988)
- To the Golden Cities: Pursuing the American Jewish Dream in Miami and L.A.Deborah Dash Moore (New York: Free Press; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, 1994)
- California JewsAva Kahn and Marc Dollinger ed. (Waltham, MA: Brandeis University Press, 2003)
- Towers of Gold: How One Jewish Immigrant Named Isaias Hellman Created CaliforniaDinkelspiel, Frances (New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2008)
- Diary of a Los Angeles Jew, 1947-1973: Autobiography as AutofictionMark Lee Raphael (Williamsburg, VA: Department of Religious Studies, College of William and Mary, 2008)
- Jews of the Pacific Coast: Re-inventing Community on America’s EdgeJews of the Pacific Coast: Re-inventing Community on America’s EdgeEisenberg, Ellen, Ava Kahn, and William Toll ed. (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2009)
- Jews in the Los Angeles MosaicKaren Wilson ed. (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2013)
Dissertations
UCLA dissertations, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures
YRL Stacks and SRLF LD791.9.N3
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Foreign DissertationsSearch the CRL Catalog for dissertations already held at the Center. If a foreign dissertation is not at CRL, UCLA's Interlibrary Loan Service will request that CRL acquire it for your use. This special issue of Focus on Global Resources describes CRL's extensive collection of foreign dissertations.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
E-books
Below is a selection of e-books and e-book collections. Some are freely available, others are subscription services, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
- Digitized UC BooksUC's copies of our mass-digitized books and serials are loaded into HathiTrust. In addition, our digitization partners (Google and Internet Archive) also host copies of the UC books they have digitized. In all cases, copyright status determines whether books can be viewed in full.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic, and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available. - eScholarship, University of California This link opens in a new window UC's open access repository. Included are journals and peer-reviewed series such as the UEE: Open Version, and the Cotsen Digital Archaeology Series.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- This link opens in a new window
- Jewish National and University Library Digitized Book Repository "The Jewish National and University Library is proud to announce the first stage of a project to digitize rare and out-of-print monographs from its collection. The aim of this project is to make these works freely available not only to on site users but also to the public worldwide. This will both preserve the originals and greatly increase the number of people who will be able to refer to them. About 1100 volumes have been digitized with the generous support of the Dorot Foundation. Additional works are added weekly. Selection will be based on considerations of demand, preservation and funding. Only works in the public domain will be considered..."
- NYPL Yizkor Books Online The New York Public Library's Digital Yizkor Book Viewer provides page-turner technology to read or consult crystal-clear digital images of complete Holocaust memorial books, exactly as issued. 650 of the 700 postwar yizkor books at The New York Public Library are accessible online in their entirety.
Google Books
Romanization Tables
Click the links below to see Library of Congress Romanization tables, which you will need in order to locate UCLA Library holdings: