Skip to main content

Music Resources in Library Special Collections

This guide will point researchers to relevant collections and resources. If you have any questions or suggestions for additions to the guide, please contact Peggy Alexander

Images in Assorted Collections

Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive

Los Angeles Times Photographs Collection

Photonegatives and photographic prints documenting events and people in Southern California, the U.S., and the world. Materials originate from the Los Angeles Times newspaper and includes glass negatives (ca. 1918-1932), nitrate negatives (ca. 1925-45), and safety negatives (ca. 1935-1990). The collection also includes prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Times Orange County and San Diego bureaus.

Conductor Zubin Mehta reviewing scores with musician Frank Zappa, 1970

James Arkatov Photograph Collection

The collection consists of photographs of musicians performing in the Los Angeles and Pittsburg areas, taken by cellist James Arkatov. Arkatov was the artistic founder of the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, as well as a cellist with the Pittsburgh Symphony, the Indianapolis Symphony, the San Francisco Symphony, and NBC's orchestra. The collection contains over 500 black and white and color photographs.

Arturo Toscanini conducting, Los Angeles, 1949

Mark Weber Jazz Collection

The collection consists of photographs taken by Mark Weber relating to the experimental jazz musicians during the 1970's-1990's, with predominant focus on photos taken in Los Angeles from 1976-1985.

Horace Tapscott and Cecil Taylor backstage at the Lighthouse Cafe, Hermosa Beach

Sheet Music

Digital Sheet MusicDigital Sheet Music

Curator, Performing Arts Special Collections

Peggy Alexander's picture
Peggy Alexander
Contact:
A1713 Charles E. Young Research Library
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1575
Telephone: 310.825.3369
Fax: 310.206.1864
Website / Blog Page