Skip to main content

Film and Television Research in Library Special Collections

This guide serves as an orientation to use of relevant research materials held by Library Special Collections.

Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive

Los Angeles Times Photographs Collection

Photonegatives and photographic prints documenting events and people in Southern California, the U.S., and the world. Materials originate from the Los Angeles Times newspaper and includes glass negatives (ca. 1918-1932), nitrate negatives (ca. 1925-45), and safety negatives (ca. 1935-1990). The collection also includes prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Times Orange County and San Diego bureaus.

Voice actress June Foray at Audition in Los Angeles, CA, 1965.

Voice actress June Foray at audition in Los Angeles, Calif., 1965

Photographs of Hair, Makeup, Costumes

Hair

Costumes

Makeup

Photographs of Equipment

Batteries

 

Cameras:

Lighting

Microphones

Sets/Props

Equipment (general)

Art Dept. Digital Image Collection

Houses images and video stills from the UCLA Art Department's New Genres, Sculpture, Photography, and Painting and Drawing databases, featuring documentary photographs of prominent modern and postmodern artists' studio processes and work. Includes documentation of performance art, installation art, gallery installations, public art and graffiti, among other practices.

Cartoonist Sidney Smith with drawing of cartoon character Andy Gump, Los Angeles, 1934

Cartoonist Sidney Smith with drawing of cartoon character Andy Gump, Los Angeles, 1934

Sheet Music Consortium

Digital Sheet MusicDigital Sheet Music

Handbills

Samples of items in the Collection of Theater, Motion Picture and Concert Programs

                                     

   Big Boy, 1930                      Manhandled, 1924           Ancient Highway, 1925         Hollywood Review, 1929       

 

               

   Gorilla, 1927                    Rough Riders, 1927         Feet of Clay, 1924